Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 29

    Router stats - confusing plots....

    This is a discussion on Router stats - confusing plots.... within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, I am currently experiencing a lot of random drop outs (been going on for weeks now) - not on ...

    1. #1
      Lee 4459's Avatar
      Lee 4459 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01329
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Router stats - confusing plots....

      Hi,

      I am currently experiencing a lot of random drop outs (been going on for weeks now) - not on Sky BB but migrating soon (end of this month)

      Here are the router stats (Router Stats Lite)

      Router stats - confusing plots....-noisemargin-2011nov24-1821.jpg

      Router stats - confusing plots....-connectionspeed-2011nov24-1821.jpg

      Can anyone advise on what they think is causing this type of problem? I have been told that it is a telephone cable fault by my current IP but the nice gentleman at Sky (techie) checked and said all was fine - no copper line problem.

      I have had BT out a couple of times and they can find no fault with the line (master socket back to the exchange).

      I have a simple setup: master socket (faceplate removed) straight into a filter (has been replaced but still have the same problem) Phone connection made directt from the filter, Modem connection (using supplied cable) taken from the ADSL connection. Modem connected to PC via wireless. No other connections to the Master socket.

      The plug in the Master socket seems very sloppy/slack when I connect the filter into it - can easily waggle it about

      Router is Thomson v575. Problem showing on router is that all lights (except the power) go out then modem tries to re-establish DSL but regularly drops back to just the mains light on.

      Have tried switching modem channels, removing phone connection, plugging phone in only when conection drops (still get tone on the phone and cannot hear any "hissing" or ticking on the line). Have even tried a new modem but all to no avail.

      I am 0,1 miles from the exchange (as the crow flies) and 0.5miles via the road (which is where the cable runs)

      At my wits end as I can't connect to Xbox Live often enough to get my MW3 ranking up

      Any advice on the possible problem gratefully received
      Last edited by Lee 4459; 24-11-11 at 08:29 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lee 4459's Avatar
      Lee 4459 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01329
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      These are the router stats (just now)

      DSL Connection
      Link Information
      Uptime:0 days, 0:00:39
      DSL Type:G.992.1 annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:448 / 864
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]:0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:11.5 / 17.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:11.0 / 17.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:9.0 / 15.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / ALCB
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):896 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):449 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote):0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote):1,223 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down):113 / 0
      CRC Errors (Up/Down):113 / 0
      HEC Errors (Up/Down):18 / 0

      Don't seem to make sense as the up time is only 39 second but Error Seconds are >1200

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      The cause of the drop outs can be a variety of things. If a test was performed whilst the line was fine, then it might not show any issues.

      A typical cause will be a break in the line somewhere or possibly a dodgy joint. It hasn't been particularly windy where I am today, but if you have an overhead telephone line, the fault may well be there.

      When your line is transferred to Sky, have a copy of those pics to hand. If the BTO Engineer does visit, show him them and let him know that this is what you had with your previous ISP. The frequency of the drops should help him to see that there is an existing issue.

      Hopefully he will ensure that he uses a different set of wires to your existing connection and it will no longer be an issue for you.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      Lee 4459's Avatar
      Lee 4459 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01329
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      Hi Scubbie,

      I am only about 10 miles from you so the weather has been the same. Anyhow, the line is buried in the ground around here.

      I have tried to show the BT "Engineer" (for want of a better name) similar plots during their visits but they were simply not interested and only concerned about their job of checking the master socket back to the exchange. (At 160 is each visit I am obviously not happy - luckily my current ISP footed the bill). When they visited the internet was performing perfectly well (typical).

      On the last drop out (about 2 minutes ago) tried to call my landline and the message said "this line does not accept incoming calls"
      Last edited by Lee 4459; 24-11-11 at 09:17 PM.

    6. #5
      Lee 4459's Avatar
      Lee 4459 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01329
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      Latest stats

      DSL Connection
      Link Information
      Uptime:0 days, 0:10:20
      DSL Type:G.992.1 annex A
      Bandwidth (Up/Down) [kbps/kbps]:448 / 3,872
      Data Transferred (Sent/Received) [kB/kB]:0.00 / 0.00
      Output Power (Up/Down) [dBm]:11.5 / 19.5
      Line Attenuation (Up/Down) [dB]:10.0 / 15.0
      SN Margin (Up/Down) [dB]:14.0 / 2.0
      Vendor ID (Local/Remote):TMMB / ALCB
      Loss of Framing (Local/Remote):929 / 0
      Loss of Signal (Local/Remote):534 / 0
      Loss of Power (Local/Remote):0 / 0
      Loss of Link (Remote):0
      Error Seconds (Local/Remote):2 / 0
      FEC Errors (Up/Down):3,493 / 57,786
      CRC Errors (Up/Down):3,493 / 1,476
      HEC Errors (Up/Down):992 / 1,076

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      Underground cables can be damaged by water or roots from a tree. They are also more troublesome to replace, but not impossible.

      Since you are already planning on migrating to Sky, there is very little which can be done at present.

      As I previously mentioned, print off the charts and show the to the BTO Engineer if he turns up. Unfortunately I do not think RouterStats Lite will work with the latest Sky Router (Sagem Path F@ST 2504N). However if you can change the user ID on your current router, then you could use in in place of the Sky router.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #7
      Lee 4459's Avatar
      Lee 4459 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01329
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      I have possibly made a mistake when ordering Sky BB as I said that I would install it myself. I don't believe an engineer will come to visit, it is down to me to connect it all up. I am elecronics by trade so it is simple enough but I have maybe missed an opportunity to get someone else to do the install and check I don't miss something simple.

      I go live on 30th Nov
      Last edited by Lee 4459; 25-11-11 at 10:12 AM.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      Nothing to worry about there. All the Sky Engineer would do is plug it into the mains & connect it to the telephone socket.

      BTO will still do their part.

      They may or may not visit. Since you already have BB connected, there is more of a chance they may not.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      Franchise_mark's Avatar
      Franchise_mark is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01903
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      West Sussex
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      Lee

      I have had two very similar situations over the last 12 months. On both occasions it finally proved to be faults in the underground line. On both occasions the Open Reach (OR) Engineers finally tracked down the fault and resolved it. Unfortunately, the faults tended to be intermittent, due to dampness in a joint on one occasion, and a loose connection/worn wire in an external junction box on the other.

      Since OR will maintain the line whether you are with BT or Sky, it would seem worth reporting the fault. Does it affect the voice line, i.e. do you have a lot of crackling on the line? If so, focus on that rather than the broadband performance when you report it - you may find a more helpful response.

      BTW the "line test" didn't show a problem for either of my faults either.

    11. #10
      Lee 4459's Avatar
      Lee 4459 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01329
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router:
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Router stats - confusing plots....

      Hi,

      At least this gives me some hope that the fault will be sorted (eventually). The problem is that when BT have visited the premises there is no fault found and they then want 160 for the pleasure of their company (for half an hour)

      I will keep a closer check on the quality of the phone and if there are any crackling then I will report it as a fault.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION