Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 12

    Day 1 Switch over

    This is a discussion on Day 1 Switch over within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Just moved from BT to Sky LLU (including line rental) - no problems with changeover. Initial Stats ADSL Link Downstream ...

    1. #1
      supersneak's Avatar
      supersneak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Day 1 Switch over

      Just moved from BT to Sky LLU (including line rental) - no problems with changeover.

      Initial Stats

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 4095 kbps 605 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 dB 24.0 dB
      Noise Margin 12.9 dB 17.1 dB

      Stats from BT - before changeover

      Downstream 12,003 Kbps
      Upstream 888 Kbps
      Noise margin (Down/Up) 3.1 dB / 10.8 dB
      Line attenuation (Down/Up) 40.0 dB / 21.2 dB
      Output power (Down/Up) 0.0 dBm / 12.4 dBm

      Was getting 10Mb downloads with BT - Hoping for 9 -10 with Sky, but the noise margin target of 7 dB may drop this a bit. Anytime+ is a compensation - this is already activated and working.
      Last edited by supersneak; 27-06-11 at 08:51 PM. Reason: typo


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      The line checker tool on this site indicates that your connection will be between 8-9Mb.

      Could I suggest that you look at how things are currently connected?

      For example:

      1. are you using the short grey ADSL lead supplied by Sky?
      2. are you using the Master Socket?
      3. do you have any extensions connected to the master socket or are they plugged into the front of the socket, via the microfilter?
      4. have you tried the different microfilters to see if there is any improvement in the Line Attenuation (you want a lower figure)

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      supersneak's Avatar
      supersneak is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: nsblg
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2009
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      Hi Scubbie

      I already use an ADSL Nation faceplate with all the extension sockets filtered off.

      DLM has already kicked in - looking a lot better now.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10403 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 dB 24.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 13.3 dB

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      Quote Originally Posted by supersneak View Post
      I already use an ADSL Nation faceplate with all the extension sockets filtered off.
      No problem. Whilst they are more common now, not everyone has a filtered faceplate. Personally I am of the opinion now that it should be regarded as a normal requirement for an ADSL connection.

      I know Fibre uses a different method, but at least it is only supplied with a faceplate.

      Quote Originally Posted by supersneak View Post
      DLM has already kicked in - looking a lot better now.

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 10403 kbps 945 kbps
      Line Attenuation 41.0 dB 24.0 dB
      Noise Margin 7.3 dB 13.3 dB
      Nice improvement. With those figures you've already beaten the tool's estimation. I would also expect your upstream speed to improve a little more, provided the line can handle it all.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      supersneak (28-06-11)

    7. #5
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      I wish people would stop calling it fibre
      Its just vdsl2

      They dont even need to deploy the dslam's to the cab's
      in mine and your case
      we could both get 50mbit straight from the exchange via vdsl2

    8. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,242
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,240 Times in 2,103 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      Quote Originally Posted by Shonk View Post
      I wish people would stop calling it fibre
      Its just vdsl2...
      As the products are mostly referred to as FTTC or FTTP in the UK, it is easy to understand why people refer to them as Fibre.

      As for the speeds, I think that BTO/BTW is afraid of opening up the speed too much. They are probably worried that if they opened it up fully, the backhaul would be overwhelmed.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      I wish people would stop calling it fibre
      What else should we call Fibre to the Cabinet or Fibre to the Premises? Very-high-bitrate over DSL, is a technology used with copper wire. It is used between the fibre enabled cabinet and the premises. Without the fibre, it would not be effective as it only works over short distances.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #8
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      I know what your saying but its a bit dodgy
      I could call my connection fibre by the same definition
      as im only a few hundred metres from the exchange
      and its fibre from there

      By rights none of them should be able to call it fibre
      including virgin

      The only exception is a true FTTP connection

    11. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      I could call my connection fibre by the same definition
      as im only a few hundred metres from the exchange
      and its fibre from there
      Not really, we are talking about the connection to the exchange here, not the backhaul from the exchange, which is all fibre.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    12. #10
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Day 1 Switch over

      The propper way of thinking of it i think
      is moving the exchange closer to your house
      with a fibre back haul ofc

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION