Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20

    Confused about my stats

    This is a discussion on Confused about my stats within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Originally Posted by Bluebottle I get 5 meg (ish) and if i force noise margin down to 1 i get ...

    1. #11
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Confused about my stats

      Quote Originally Posted by Bluebottle View Post
      I get 5 meg (ish) and if i force noise margin down to 1 i get upto 7meg and still hardly any errors.
      Just a thought but have you tried another router? If you get no errors with SNR of 1 on a V1 router then it may be reporting incorrectly.

      They're cheap as chips on eBay now. Although you would be breaking T & C's using another one it would be nice to rule out the possibility of yours being faulty.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      Hi Mark.
      Yes that is what I mean, as for BT well they don't accept that slow speed is a fault, and they will not speak to you on BB issues as you are not their customer for this. It would have to come through your ISP. It has been said on this forum that Sky will not pass slow speed faults on to BT. But there is no harm in trying

    4. #13
      Bluebottle's Avatar
      Bluebottle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Newton-le-Willows
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      @eyemdee

      yeh mate, done it with my d-link. I get marginally better results. Slightly higher sync at about 5700kpbs on adsl2+ and 6000kpbs with g.dtm.

      --------------------------------------

      Line State : Connected
      Modulation : ADSL_2plus
      Annex Mode : Annex A
      Max Tx Power : -38 dBm/Hz

      Item Downstream Upstream Unit
      SNR Margin 7 11 dB
      Line Attenuation 37 19 dB
      Data Rate 5681 764 kbps

      -------------------------------------
      Line State : Connected
      Modulation : ADSL_G.dmt.bis
      Annex Mode : Annex A
      Max Tx Power : -38 dBm/Hz

      Item Downstream Upstream Unit
      SNR Margin 7 11 dB
      Line Attenuation 37 19 dB
      Data Rate 6020 764 kbps

      Cheers brian,

      i may look into it but dont fancy my chances of getting bt to make my line pure copper. for a tenner or so a month for my line rental i doubt they'll give damn.

      Mark
      Last edited by Bluebottle; 10-02-08 at 02:19 PM.

    5. #14
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Confused about my stats

      Ah well, worth a try. See what you mean about the speed though. My attenuation is 39 db and I get a constant sync at 12446 so there really is a problem there.

      I take it you have tried the quiet line test on 17070 option 2? Any noise whatsoever there can be grounds to get BT out...

    6. #15
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      Mark.
      You say you are a network eng. Do you ever come across any BT/Openreach people in your professional life?
      You would be suprised what can be sorted out over a pint

    7. #16
      Bluebottle's Avatar
      Bluebottle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Newton-le-Willows
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      eyemdee, tried the quiet line test and it seemed fine to me. i got no clicks or whistles or aything but it wasn't completeley silent. i got a very very low hiss but i think that may have been my cordless phone. i had no other phone to try with.

      Brian,

      i very rarely bump into any Bt or open reach engineers. now and again maybe, usually at the other end of the country as i'm always on site and never local. maybe i could get them to have a look but that would probaly invole kidnapping

    8. #17
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      Well Mark, the time has come to cheat!. When you call 151 and report a problem with your phone, the exchange test looks for loop impedance AND open circuits.
      If you are with me so far, when the Openreach comes to repair the fault, ask/beg, offer to sell your children, anything to get them to check and remake the joints in your line at the street cab.

    9. #18
      Bluebottle's Avatar
      Bluebottle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Newton-le-Willows
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      hehe, sounds like a plan

      I happen to have key cards for bt exchanges and can probably get into street cabs, hmm I wouldn't have a clue actually, looks like spaghetti to me best leave it to the bt crew i think!!

    10. #19
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      No don't do that! In my experiance the circuit board of NTE-5 sockets Has very poor print, and is very easy to damage.

    11. #20
      Bluebottle's Avatar
      Bluebottle is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01925
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Newton-le-Willows
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Confused about my stats

      ha! wouldn't dream of it, was just a joke

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION