Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    Sorry, but here goes again

    This is a discussion on Sorry, but here goes again within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; ADSL Link Downstream Upstream Connection Speed 6016 kbps 384 kbps Line Attenuation 44 db 12.5 db Noise Margin 3 db ...

    1. #11
      foofydoo's Avatar
      foofydoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6016 kbps 384 kbps
      Line Attenuation 44 db 12.5 db
      Noise Margin 3 db 14 db

      right i put the cableback into terminal three and the noise jumped to 9db but speed fell to 3100kbps. I took the wire back out of terminal three and it's jumped back up to 6016kbps and down to 3db. It seems to go from 1db - 4db and around.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      Quote Originally Posted by Monday View Post
      ^^ Nope that was....err..hankseylyjit who was reporting disconnections with a SNR of 6.9
      sorry must have missed that post , i meant this one
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...ease-help.html

      foofy - i assume you mean the ring wire - if so are you disconnecting it at both ends


    4. #13
      richone54's Avatar
      richone54 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: watford
      Broadband ISP: Virgin
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Watford
      Posts
      2,627
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      ok, stop fiddling with your bits (that did not sound so bad when i had it in my head )
      are you having any problems with your connection ? if so could you be a bit more specific,
      if not and you were just after seeing if your connection is ok, i would say yes(but it does not take a lot to please me)

    5. #14
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      Except when the router first synchronises, the noise margin is only an estimate. The router has no way of making an accurate measurement without retraining. The router should theoretically hold the connection right down to 0dB - some people have even seen negative numbers, but that's only because the router is underestimating the noise margin.

      Once the noise margin had dropped below 3dB the router will have to do a lot of bit swapping to keep the connection, because you need 3dB of SNR to carry one more bit on a 4.3125 kHz channel, so if the noise margin is less than 3dB chances are it'll have to hunt around a lot to find a channel than can take an extra bit.

    6. #15
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      Quote Originally Posted by dholdi View Post
      foofy - i assume you mean the ring wire - if so are you disconnecting it at both ends
      Shouldn't make any difference. Microfilters make no connection to the ring wire and recreate the ring signal themselves. It only needs to be disconnect at the master socket end.

    7. #16
      foofydoo's Avatar
      foofydoo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      I had a real bad connection start last tuesday for no reason after 2 months of rock solid performance. Then it would trip every 15 mins meaning and had to switch the router on and off. I switched Upnp off and read about taking the ring wire out. I did this on sunday and the speed doubled but the noise went down to about 1db. However it spent the last 48 hours connected with no problem. However since reading about the noise levels I got worried?

    8. #17
      James67's Avatar
      James67 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      1,789
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      Like I said, the router should be able to hold a connection at 0dB. By all accounts the new V2 routers seem able to do that.

      Which is in contrast to the V1 router which can barely hold a connection at 7dB or even 10dB - but I digress, this thread's about your problems, not mine.

    9. #18
      eyemdee's Avatar
      eyemdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMMNSFI
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      716
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sorry, but here goes again

      Quote Originally Posted by foofydoo View Post
      I had a real bad connection start last tuesday for no reason after 2 months of rock solid performance. Then it would trip every 15 mins meaning and had to switch the router on and off. I switched Upnp off and read about taking the ring wire out. I did this on sunday and the speed doubled but the noise went down to about 1db. However it spent the last 48 hours connected with no problem. However since reading about the noise levels I got worried?
      Removing that ring wire usually improves things, sometimes quite dramatically. Does the router still report a low noise margin after it has rebooted?

      In any event I would not worry if your speed is better and the connection is stable. I think there is still a lot to be learnt about these new routers!

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION