Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Faulty Line???

    This is a discussion on Faulty Line??? within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Dear All, Has anyone any suggestions to what the figures should read on my router if my phone line was ...

    1. #1
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Faulty Line???

      Dear All,

      Has anyone any suggestions to what the figures should read on my router if my phone line was ok. Only need approximation.
      I am 1.95KM from the exchange.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      What figures are you looking for?

      Would be easier to see what figures you have and then go from there.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      Scrinthe's Avatar
      Scrinthe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      Hi there ..

      Just started posting here , but what i did do and still do infact , is READ alot

      Please read this link about how to post your stats and someone will then be able to help

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/route...ter-stats.html

      I find the Mognut's Utility is quick and easy .

    5. #4
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      Hi all,

      Here are my stats.
      I am 1.95km from the exchange and I am on the Max package.
      On a very good day, these are my stats.
      My connection can drop every 5 mins.



      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 6240 kbps 768 kbps
      Line Attenuation 50.0 db 31.5 db
      Noise Margin 7.6 db 14.0 db

    6. #5
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      You're getting a good speed for an attenuation of 50dB, which, by the way, suugests a line length closer to 3.5 km (looks like it makes a tour of the local attractions before going to the exchange).

      The noise margin is ok too, at the moment you tested, although, this may drop somewhat in the evenings. This is the most likely cause of your disconnections. You may want to take a look at the 'cabling and faceplate' forum to see if there is anything you can do your end to improve your connnection.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    7. #6
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      I have done all the face plate mods and wiring mods to try improve it but like you say, at nights it drops off.

      Should the "Downstream" and "Upstream" Line attention not be almost the same?

    8. #7
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      Somebody more technically minded than me will have to answer the question about attenuations, although, I have yet to see anyone who has the same attenuation up and down.

      As for the loss of connection, you could always install Mossywells Bounce Sky Router. You can use this to reboot for you when the noise margin drops below a chosen level, or you could use it to artificially increase the noise margin to stop the disconnections, although this would be at the expense of some speed.

      Do you have any problems with your phone line at all, any noise, crackling etc?
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    9. #8
      the_big_1's Avatar
      the_big_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      58
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Faulty Line???

      Hi ya!

      I did have noise at first but they sorted it. A freind of mine works for an IP and used a program that tells them that the actualy cable distance to my house is 2.6KM but the Router is stating 50.0dB which is 3.6Km. I would think this means there is a fault on my line, higher resistance like a bad connection?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION