Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Bad CRC Errors - Help!!

    This is a discussion on Bad CRC Errors - Help!! within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Here are my Stats, I've done just about all I can with my house wiring to cure bad SNR. I ...

    1. #1
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bad CRC Errors - Help!!

      Here are my Stats, I've done just about all I can with my house wiring to cure bad SNR. I now am just using a master socket which which is unfortunately connected outside to a brown box before it reaches the pole. This is the only place where the connections can be inferior/corroded as I am now usuing the minimum cable length possible other than a direct cable straight from the pole.

      I would usually reboot the router now to get a more stable connection. Can someone please confirm that these CRC errors are quite bad. If so any suggestions?

      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: INTR, Upstream rate = 768 Kbps, Downstream rate = 8096 Kbps
      Link Power State: L0
      Mode: G.DMT
      Channel: Interleave
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 6.8 13.0
      Attn(dB): 38.0 24.5
      Pwr(dBm): 19.8 8.4
      Max(Kbps): 9472 1216
      Rate (Kbps): 8096 768
      G.dmt framing
      K: 254(0) 25
      R: 12 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 4
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 1 1
      B: 254 25
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 12 16
      S: 1.0470 8.6153
      L: 2040 208
      D: 64 4
      Counters
      SF: 1207460 1207458
      SFErr: 51964 152
      RS: 164214610 10263393
      RSCorr: 40264063 1196
      RSUnCorr: 414222 0

      HEC: 37984 140
      OCD: 0 6
      LCD: 0 2
      Total Cells: 391704971 0
      Data Cells: 529563 0
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 2298 0
      SES: 1011 0
      UAS: 62 0
      Total time = 5 hours 44 min 2 sec
      SF = 1208518
      CRC = 52137
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2298
      Latest 1 day time = 5 hours 44 min 2 sec
      SF = 1208518
      CRC = 52137
      LOS = 2
      LOF = 0
      ES = 2298
      Latest 15 minutes time = 14 min 2 sec
      SF = 49578
      CRC = 24425
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 677
      Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 11637
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 543
      Previous 1 day time = 0 sec
      SF = 0
      CRC = 0
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 11910
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 576
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52931
      CRC = 2154
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 252
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec
      SF = 52930
      CRC = 1632
      LOS = 0
      LOF = 0
      ES = 121


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Bad CRC Errors - Help!!

      I'm not well up on stats but they do seem excessive. What type of master socket do you have ? If it is the newer (nte5 - I think ) you can remove the front of this and plug directly into a test socket behind it - this will eliminate any internal wiring faults.
      dave


    4. #3
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Bad CRC Errors - Help!!

      Not just your CRC. The router is showing a very large number of uncorrected(able) errors too and your errored seconds are running at ~60%.

      As dholdi suggests it would be helpful if you were able to run a comparison with your router connected directly to the test socket. It may well be that the problem is external to your house but much more frequently it often turns out to be hard wired extensions/ring wire etc. The test socket will bypass all other internal wiring so if things improve then you should be able to sort the problem out yourself.

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Bad CRC Errors - Help!!

      Saturday
      "The router is showing a very large number of uncorrected(able) errors too "
      is that this bit - RSUnCorr: 414222 0
      cheers
      dave


    6. #5
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Bad CRC Errors - Help!!

      RSUnCorr and HEC in relation to CRC.

    7. #6
      bobbyrabbit's Avatar
      bobbyrabbit is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Horsham, Carfax
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Unlimited Fibre Extra
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Horsham
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Bad CRC Errors - Help!!


     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION