Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Another stats help needed pls

    This is a discussion on Another stats help needed pls within the Router stats forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; OK. I have just gone to Sky. Only getting 2500-3000kbps on Max. Modem syncing with the exchange at over 13000. ...

    1. #1
      jecuk's Avatar
      jecuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Another stats help needed pls

      OK. I have just gone to Sky. Only getting 2500-3000kbps on Max. Modem syncing with the exchange at over 13000. Large file downloads running 371KB/sec stabilised.

      I am in a large old house. There is all sorts of wiring and many different phone lines used to be active. I think the ADSL router is in the master socket.

      Any suggestions as I thought I might get a bit better than this?

      PS. I am running my own DG834PN router.

      Jason.




      /usr/sbin/adslctl: ADSL driver and PHY status
      Status: Showtime Channel: FAST, Upstream rate = 764 Kbps, Downstream rate = 13764 Kbps Link Power State: L0
      Mode: ADSL2+
      Channel: Fast
      Trellis: ON
      Line Status: No Defect
      Training Status: Showtime
      Down Up
      SNR (dB): 8.2 13.0
      Attn(dB): 40.5 17.6
      Pwr(dBm): 1.3 12.4
      Max(Kbps): 13768 864
      Rate (Kbps): 13764 764
      G.dmt framing
      K: 239(0) 24
      R: 16 16
      S: 1 8
      D: 64 8
      ADSL2 framing
      MSGc: 110 68
      B: 238 23
      M: 1 8
      T: 1 1
      R: 16 16
      S: 0.5532 7.7037
      L: 3687 216
      D: 64 8
      Counters
      SF: 1906182 1906180
      SFErr: 4627 1
      RS: 221117226 16202530
      RSCorr: 15116664 620756997
      RSUnCorr: 416966 0

      HEC: 4628 0
      OCD: 0 0
      LCD: 0 0
      Total Cells: 992411838 55114698
      Data Cells: 462997 752619
      Drop Cells: 0
      Bit Errors: 0 0

      ES: 280 1
      SES: 217 0
      UAS: 13 17
      Total time = 8 hours 30 min 4 sec
      SF = 1906182
      CRC = 4627
      LOS = 4686
      LOF = 0
      ES = 280
      Latest 1 day time = 8 hours 30 min 4 sec SF = 1906182 CRC = 4627 LOS = 4686 LOF = 0 ES = 280 Latest 15 minutes time = 4 sec SF = 311 CRC = 0 LOS = 0 LOF = 0 ES = 0 Previous 15 minutes time = 15 min 0 sec SF = 56079 CRC = 2 LOS = 2 LOF = 0 ES = 3 Previous 1 day time = 0 sec SF = 0 CRC = 0 LOS = 0 LOF = 0 ES = 0
      15 minutes interval [-30 min to -15 min] time = 15 min 0 sec SF = 56079 CRC = 12 LOS = 11 LOF = 0 ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-45 min to -30 min] time = 15 min 0 sec SF = 56079 CRC = 47 LOS = 64 LOF = 0 ES = 4
      15 minutes interval [-60 min to -45 min] time = 15 min 0 sec SF = 56079 CRC = 5 LOS = 6 LOF = 0 ES = 4


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      You have a fast connection speed for your attenuation. I would have expected a connection speed of around 11000kbps for an attenuation of 40.5db. You may find the speed makes your connection a little unstable.

      Take a look at this post to try and optimise your connection, this may help to reduce your errors.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/speed...onnection.html

      I think you are almost bound to get errors with your current speeds although, I'm not technical enough (yet) to tell how bad they are.

      I'll leave Saturday to comment on your errors and suggest further options.

      HTH
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    4. #3
      jecuk's Avatar
      jecuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      Interesting. Using an iMac to get to the router over a homeplug network but the same problem exists if I use the laptop cabled straight into the router. So I don't think the Optimiser setting will help me much.

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      As Lazarus says, you have an exceptional connection speed for your attenuation and a healthy noise margin too. However, TCPOptimizer can't do anything about your errors. TCPOptimizer only affects Windows settings (no MAC version as far as I'm aware). It can't and doesn't have any impact on the router connection. Those errors are occurring at the router not the laptop. I believe there may be a MAC equivalent of TCPOptimizer. Have a look in the MAC forum.

      Looking at your stats in detail, I'm afraid they are really bad with a huge number of uncorrected errors. This will certainly be having an impact on your download speed. Almost certainly these errors are being generated by the wiring in your house. If you have a test socket, a comparison of stats between this and your normal connection may give an indication of how much cleaning up is possible.
      Last edited by Saturday; 28-03-07 at 03:34 PM.

    6. #5
      jecuk's Avatar
      jecuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      Thanks. I think I am going to have to sort out the location of the master socket as soon as possible and go from there.

    7. #6
      jecuk's Avatar
      jecuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      OK, so I think I may have gone some way towards getting to the bottom of it.

      I have travced the line back to where it enters the property. There is something which looks like a junction box (two thick cables from outside coming in and lots of little wires in it and somer medium cables coming out. A lot of those go into DACS 2 units (3 in total).

      The one that the modem is in doesn't seem to come from there but rather out of the junction box. So overall, there looks to be a lot of rubbish going on here.

      How should I best try to work out the problems? There is one master socket on the wall there but it looks to be for a different line (which does not seem to be active).

    8. #7
      jecuk's Avatar
      jecuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      Thinking about this some more this morning, it seems like I might need to pay someone to come out and sort this out - the wiring looks complicated.

    9. #8
      jecuk's Avatar
      jecuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Another stats help needed pls

      Talking to BT about this I am being told by them that an engineer may not even be able to fix the problem. The chap doesn't even seem to know what a DACS is.

      Am I likely to have better luck with a private contractor rather than a BT engineer for this sort of thing?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION