Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 35

    emule help pls!

    This is a discussion on emule help pls! within the P2P / File sharing forums, part of the General chat category; I fully agree. And what I am saying is: From my experience, if you try for an hour a night, ...

    1. #21
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      I fully agree.

      And what I am saying is: From my experience, if you try for an hour a night, each night of the week, it appears that sometimes you can get around it.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      azimuth2003's Avatar
      azimuth2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Quote Originally Posted by Chaos View Post
      Something, somewhere is choking the connection - and if so many people are having so many problems with all manner of P2P software, then it kind of points to a common denominator..........

      Anyway - Azimuth - a run down of your settings would be great - at least I can give them a run, as I'm all out of options...........
      Chaos My options

      [Extended]
      Max new connections - 5 secs : 30
      Max half open conns. - 9
      Enable Credit system - Yes
      All others are as installed (above may be also)

      File buffer size - 224KB
      Open Queue - 3000

      [Connection]
      Hard Limit - 750
      Max Connections - 800 (trying 150 tonight - ref 'Shooty' suggestion)
      Download Limit - Wherever you like (50% of Max available for me)
      Upload Limit - Usually 20 - 30% of available
      eD2K Network - Yes Kad - No

      [1st time run wizard] (VERY important IMO)
      Download / Upload Priority - BOTH enabled
      Full Chunk Transfer - Disabled

      Other stuff
      both open ports are 46xx (near to originals)
      Both forwarded IN & OUT in Router
      Not opened in Norton
      (like XP firewall - known Apps get ports opened automatically)

      NOTE: I sync at around D/l 6200 - U/l 768

      Emule on 20mins tonight and getting 190kB/s (giving 35kB/s Up)
      This with 12 downloads running between 750MB - 6.3GB

      Works for me but not guaranteed for all

    4. #23
      azimuth2003's Avatar
      azimuth2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Chaos & Shooty

      I forgot to mention that I run a 2nd PC just for Emule

      Athlon 1800+ 640MB ram 1 x 30GB & 1 x 40GB IDE

      Very little else running on it therefore

      XP Pro, Norton Anti-virus, Diskeeper 2007

      I try to keep a useful selection of Mid - large files for uploaders (similar to my main downloads)

      Update - I'm getting 190 - 240kB/s now (Thats 1Gb plus after 1.5 hrs online)

    5. #24
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      I'm very glad to hear that.

      I got bugger all last night. Tonight I might get more

    6. #25
      azimuth2003's Avatar
      azimuth2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Lancs
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Shooty

      I tried changing my 'Max Connections' from 800 to 150

      No Difference at all as for as I can tell

      So - I will keep the 150 for now and report later

      Although I havent tried for any RARER files since


      Thanks for that tip

    7. #26
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Even then, you shouldn't notice any difference at all. It doesn't affect searches for the reasons I pointed out earlier. You don't connect to other machines when you search, so there's no difference.

    8. #27
      Chaos's Avatar
      Chaos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01606
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Still not getting any better here. I've tried all of the above and my max download since my last post has been 93KB/s - with an average of 8.85KB/s!

      I'm just about to unistall emule and look for another P2P - failing that, I'm going to scrap Sky, as it's just not worth the money/effort!

    9. #28
      Chaos's Avatar
      Chaos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01606
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      It's official - THREATS WORK!!!! After yesterday's rant, my d/l speed overnight has been great!! Peaking at 260 KB/s, the average was 105 KB/s!!!

      Actually - it might not have been the threat of me throwing it in the bin, I also had a play in the network connection settings and unticked UPnP in exceptions!!!

      Now I'm not saying this'll work in all cases, but I turned off UPnP in my router last week (which made it FAR more stable), so I thought I'd turn off UPnP in other places too.

      It's listed in exceptions and under the advanced tab - but mine only had a check under the exceptions tab.

      As I say, it might be coincidence, but within 30 minutes of turning it off, my d/l speed began to steadily rise and has been sitting at around 100 KB/s over the past 9 hours or so!

      Not perfect, but I'll take it!!!!


    10. #29
      Shooty*'s Avatar
      Shooty* is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      Cool.

      My point all along has been that sometimes you can seem to sneak around the back of whatever is being used to monitor the downloading. I feel that no one has taken that in as no one has commented on it or tried my suggestion that you keep, keep trying nightly till you get a good result. It sounds like you now have done.

      Well done on the good speed. Now, the test will be: if you turn your computer off, and try again tomorrow, will you still get a good result?

      My broadband is not working at all at the moment. Have reset router 12 times, changed microfilter, etc. Hopefully it'll start working at some point this weekend.

      What are these Upnp settings of which you speak? How can I find them?

    11. #30
      Chaos's Avatar
      Chaos is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01606
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cheshire
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: emule help pls!

      UpnP - universal plug and play (more like prey, but hey).

      In your router admin panel, there's an option to turn it off. This is the VERY first thing I did (following advice on another thread). The outcome was that I IMMEDIATELY got a stable connection - since turning it off, I haven't needed a reset nor has the line dropped!

      In your control panel/network connections, open up the local network icon and in the exceptions tab, there will be a UPnP tick box - untick it!! Same goes for the advanced tab next to it - if UPnP is checked, then uncheck it!!

      Can't say it'll work for all, but it CERTAINLY made a difference to me...........

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION