Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    Bitcomet??

    This is a discussion on Bitcomet?? within the P2P / File sharing forums, part of the General chat category; Does anybody use bitcomet??? Need some tips for faster downloads? Cheers Zipie...

    1. #1
      Zipie's Avatar
      Zipie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Bitcomet??

      Does anybody use bitcomet??? Need some tips for faster downloads?

      Cheers
      Zipie


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      LNB's Avatar
      LNB
      LNB is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Padgate LVPAD
      Broadband ISP: Connect at 5 per month
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Warrington
      Posts
      733
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Service recovery 02392 899292

      You got 3 right!
      D'oh! Not good, dude.

    4. #3
      Zipie's Avatar
      Zipie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Looks good, do you need a static IP if you forward ports for torrents?

    5. #4
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      You can either set up a static IP or use the address reservation function in the router.

    6. #5
      Zipie's Avatar
      Zipie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      London
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      OK, sorry for all the questions. Never used a router b4 thats all. How do you know what port to use??

    7. #6
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Try in BitComets Connection Settings, It may have an option there for which ports it uses, As i know uTorrent does!

    8. #7
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      As FibreOptic says, you'll find the port information in its settings. You can use the default port number or choose a different one. Whatever port number you use, this is the one that needs to be entered in the router.

      I posted a guide to Limewire a while ago. The instructions should be the same (and for setting up portforwarding for any other application) - replace references to Limewire with Bitcomet.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/showt...7135#post27135

      The guide also shows how to set up port reservation.

      HTH

    9. #8
      Drew22's Avatar
      Drew22 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      i gave up with torrents once i moved to sky as i couldn't get any faster than 20kb/sec no matter what i tried, port forwarding etc

      Moved to newsgroups and now download at 500-600kb/sec

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      @Drew if the torrent you were using was well seeded you could'v got faster speeds, After forwarding the relevant ports my connection max's out at around 600+kb/sec aswell!

    11. #10
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts
      @FibreOptic

      Drew22 is on Connect. This seems to be an increasing problem being reported on this forum.

      I'm guessing that there is some form of traffic shaping for Connect customers. Using encrypted P2P/torrent traffic would probably get round this but so far I've not seen a post from anyone that's tried.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION