Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 29 of 29

    port forwarding

    This is a discussion on port forwarding within the P2P / File sharing forums, part of the General chat category; Joss, the nasties found where called something like, dont.stealmy.software.com or something like that. isitme, shields up reports this Please Stand ...

    1. #21
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      Joss, the nasties found where called something like, dont.stealmy.software.com or something like that.
      isitme, shields up reports this
      Please Stand By. . .

      Attempting connection to your computer. . .
      Shields UP! is now attempting to contact the Hidden Internet Server within your PC. It is likely that no one has told you that your own personal computer may now be functioning as an Internet Server with neither your knowledge nor your permission. And that it may be serving up all or many of your personal files for reading, writing, modification and even deletion by anyone, anywhere, on the Internet!
      Your Internet port 139 does not appear to exist!
      One or more ports on this system are operating in FULL STEALTH MODE! Standard Internet behavior requires port connection attempts to be answered with a success or refusal response. Therefore, only an attempt to connect to a nonexistent computer results in no response of either kind. But YOUR computer has DELIBERATELY CHOSEN NOT TO RESPOND (that's very cool!) which represents advanced computer and port stealthing capabilities. A machine configured in this fashion is well hardened to Internet NetBIOS attack and intrusion.
      Unable to connect with NetBIOS to your computer.
      All attempts to get any information from your computer have FAILED. (This is very uncommon for a Windows networking-based PC.) Relative to vulnerabilities from Windows networking, this computer appears to be VERY SECURE since it is NOT exposing ANY of its internal NetBIOS networking protocol over the Internet.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      I am not too sure about the bit about Port 139, it could mean that you have NetBIOS disabled. The rest is the standard response to a port check on a PC behind a router.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      thanks for that isitme.
      do I have to go into my computers bios to enable NetBIOS?

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      No it is a part of the Networking Protocol. Here is how to check it. Unless you are running Win98, click the 'Default' button if it is not selected.
      Disable NetBIOS in W2K/XP/2003

      Bear in mind that I do not know if this is part of the problem.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      ok mate thanks again.

    7. #26
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      No it is a part of the Networking Protocol. Here is how to check it. Unless you are running Win98, click the 'Default' button if it is not selected.
      Disable NetBIOS in W2K/XP/2003

      Bear in mind that I do not know if this is part of the problem.
      Can I just say that Netbios port 139 is hidden and that is correct. No need to disable it or enable it. Just ignor it.
      It is an old protocol and no longer used. You could say it has been replaced/superseded by DNS.
      So my advise is to leave it alone. It is hidden and of no concern.

    8. #27
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      I would agree Joss, but on my check it is 'stealthed', ie not non-existent. I don't know why this should be.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #28
      joss's Avatar
      joss is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Adwick-le-Street
      Broadband ISP: sky max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HDmultiroom
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      621
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      We are talking WINDOWS here lol. You would thing that an old protocol, that no longer servers a purpose would be removed in one of the many updates.
      Wonder if Windows 7 has it?

      AN interesting read if your bored but informative. read it all , or just go down to the XP bit.

      http://www.hsc.fr/ressources/breves/...es_win.en.html
      Last edited by joss; 24-10-09 at 04:54 PM. Reason: new info

    10. #29
      kipper's Avatar
      kipper is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      139
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: port forwarding

      hi guys, first off thanks for helping me. All is well now! I removed my rules I had set in my router, selected a random port in utorrent and bingo!
      thanks again.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION