Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 25

    intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

    This is a discussion on intermittent dl speeds with newshosting within the P2P / File sharing forums, part of the General chat category; I have been a newshosting usenet customer for many years using newsleecher. Recently I have noticed that speeds drop off ...

    1. #1
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      I have been a newshosting usenet customer for many years using newsleecher. Recently I have noticed that speeds drop off drastically on my Sky connection, sometimes this can be corrected by changing the port between 119, 80, 23, 3128, 7000, 8000 or 9000. However over the last week or two it would appear that even changing port is not helping.

      I have a VERY stable 8MB line, practicaly a constant 854k dl and am on the 16MB package, I routinely dl several GB a week but would say I am not any near the 250GB rumoured cap. I have also spoken to friends who use the same service, a number are Sky customers and have noticed the same thing while over people do not with their ISP's. Is anyone aware of Sky throttling traffic based on its source, destination or type.

      TIA d3fiant
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      confused, why was this moved to P2P/File sharing, it is related to neither but rather traffic shaping!!
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      Possibly because it is file sharing?

      As for Traffic Shaping, none existent on Sky's Base, Mid or Max. Only Connect.

      Have you opened the ports in the router for the relevant port number?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      cannot be the router, its been running fine on my router for the best part of a year and after doing some searching it looks like quite a few newshosting users are experiencing simlar probs, perhaps time to change provider.

      As for file sharing I dont share sod all
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    6. #5
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      As for file sharing I dont share sod all
      lol

      Without sounding rude, if Sky were traffic shaping newsgroups, I think we would know about it on here, people would post about it.

      Has anything else changed?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #6
      angstmann's Avatar
      angstmann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Spennymoor, Co. Durham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Co. Durham, UK
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      I am having the same problem with Newshosting. Exactly as the poster above states. I am also suffering exactly the same on a Giganews account I have just set up. It doesnt seem to be port related, as I am switching between all the available ones, and still no go. My speeds are about a tenth of what they were a few days ago. Never previously had a minute's problems with either my connection in general, or with speed issues on Usenet. I am on the Broadband Max package.

    8. #7
      x0b's Avatar
      x0b
      x0b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bournemouth - Bath Road
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      i have been having the same problem with newsgroups and torrents, if i change ports then the download speed might be as normal for a few minutes then suddenly go to snails pace. it seems sky are definitely doing something to my connection.

      i think i might be over the 40gb monthly limit for the mid package, i cant find a way to check this though, and sky.com says i dont have an email address set up to check if theyve sent me anything about it...


    9. #8
      angstmann's Avatar
      angstmann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Spennymoor, Co. Durham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Co. Durham, UK
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      Well, if there are any limits on the package I am on, then there is no way I am anywhere close to them. I will check things again tomorrow, but the last few days has definitely shown some very strange goings on with access to Usenet.

    10. #9
      d3fiant's Avatar
      d3fiant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Emerson Valley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Milton Keynes
      Posts
      102
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      well I was going to give GN a go but if that hasnt fixed your problem then that may be mute point. My concern is perhaps the powers that be have turned their attentions toward usenet providers and are somehow in cahoots with Sky and other ISP's, now that would be a shame
      SKY BB MAX
      -=Main PC=- C2D 6600 - AB9 Pro - 896MB GTX260 - 4GB RAM DDR667 - 1.8TB Storage

    11. #10
      angstmann's Avatar
      angstmann is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Spennymoor, Co. Durham
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Co. Durham, UK
      Posts
      44
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: intermittent dl speeds with newshosting

      Tried again this morning. Results still are nowhere near as good as they have been or should be, and thats via my new GigaNews account. Of course I will keep monitoring things and post my findings. Its disappointing though. Id rather be limited by gigabytes rather than have my speed limited

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION