Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

    This is a discussion on IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL within the IPv6 forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; Hi, I've just purchased a Cisco 867VAE to give me more flexibility for my home network configuration to allow for ...

    1. #1
      speedyuk's Avatar
      speedyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Cisco 867VAE-K9
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      Hi, I've just purchased a Cisco 867VAE to give me more flexibility for my home network configuration to allow for a separate LAN segment for a Home Lab network

      I've successfully configured the IPv4 for internet connectivity via 0.101

      I'd like to also have IPv6 working for my normal internet access, to get me back to the same level of functionality as the Sky Hub.

      I've upgraded the IOS to (C860VAE-ADVSECURITYK9-M), Version 15.4(3)M8 from July 2017 so I'm hoping that will provide the necessary support to be compatible with the Sky IPv6 deployment?

      Please could someone share details of their IOS configuration for IPv6 using Sky FTTC / VDSL.

      Many Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,477
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 120 Times in 115 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      you realise that router is only rated for 12.8Mbps yes?
      with some models being able to pull around 35Mbps

    4. #3
      speedyuk's Avatar
      speedyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Cisco 867VAE-K9
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      Hi Shonk, you seem to know a lot about this router. Are you able to assist with the IPv6 configuration for Sky VDSL / FTTC?

    5. #4
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      779
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      my Opnsense box is set to dhcpv6, request prefix only, prefix delegation size 56, Directly send solicit - works a treat.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats

    6. #5
      speedyuk's Avatar
      speedyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Cisco 867VAE-K9
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      I've been doing some more work and I think I must be nearly there. Below are just the relevant IPv6 bits from my config. I can now see on my PC that I'm being allocated a Global IPv6 address on my adapter. I've removed some of the info. I'm wondering if it is just a access list / routing issue I'm missing now?

      Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
      IPv6 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 2a02:c7f:xxxx:xxxx:781c:xxxx:8408:a4d8
      Temporary IPv6 Address. . . . . . : 2a02:c7f:xxxx:2d00:xxxx:xxx:8340:2bbe
      Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::781c:3dcf:8408:a4d8%15
      IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.2
      Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : fe80::521c:bfff:fede:7de0%15

      It was even showing 3 ipv6 DNS server entries at one point (not Global addresses)


      Cisco867#show running-config
      Building configuration...


      Current configuration : 5873 bytes
      !


      ipv6 unicast-routing
      ipv6 dhcp pool skyipv6dhcppool
      prefix-delegation pool skyipv6pdpool
      import dns-server
      !
      ipv6 cef
      !
      !


      !
      controller VDSL 0
      no cdp run
      !
      !


      !
      interface ATM0
      no ip address
      shutdown
      no atm ilmi-keepalive
      cdp enable
      !
      interface Ethernet0
      mac-address xxxxxxxxxxx
      no ip address
      ip nat outside
      ip virtual-reassembly in
      !
      interface Ethernet0.101
      encapsulation dot1Q 101
      ipv6 address autoconfig default
      ipv6 enable
      ipv6 nd autoconfig default-route
      ipv6 dhcp client pd skyipv6pdpool rapid-commit
      ipv6 verify unicast reverse-path
      no cdp enable
      !


      !
      interface GigabitEthernet0
      no ip address
      !


      !
      interface Vlan1
      description $ETH-SW-LAUNCH$$INTF-INFO-HWIC 4ESW$


      ipv6 address skyipv6pdpool ::1/64
      ipv6 enable
      ipv6 nd other-config-flag
      ipv6 dhcp server skyipv6dhcppool
      !


      !
      !
      ip nat inside source list 1 interface Ethernet0.101 overload
      !
      mac-address-table aging-time 10
      !
      access-list 1 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255
      access-list 1 permit 10.0.0.0 0.0.0.255
      access-list 23 permit 192.168.0.0 0.0.0.255
      access-list 100 deny ip host 255.255.255.255 any
      access-list 100 deny ip 127.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 any
      access-list 100 permit ip any any
      access-list 101 permit udp any eq bootps any eq bootpc
      access-list 101 deny ip 10.10.10.0 0.0.0.255 any
      access-list 101 permit icmp any any echo-reply
      access-list 101 permit icmp any any time-exceeded
      access-list 101 permit icmp any any unreachable
      access-list 101 deny ip 10.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 any
      access-list 101 deny ip 172.16.0.0 0.15.255.255 any
      access-list 101 deny ip 192.168.0.0 0.0.255.255 any
      access-list 101 deny ip 127.0.0.0 0.255.255.255 any
      access-list 101 deny ip host 255.255.255.255 any
      access-list 101 deny ip any any
      !


      end


      Cisco867#

    7. #6
      skyeci's Avatar
      skyeci is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Zen VDSL 80/20 - ex sky fibre pro
      Router: ECI CAB - Zyxel vmg3925 (bridge mode) + i5 Qotom OPNSense with IPV6
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2015
      Posts
      779
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 58 Times in 58 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      look much like mine. I do specify open dns or Google servers for ipv6 dns rather than sky.
      zyxel VMG3925 (bridge mode)
      Qotom i5 Opnsense with IPV6
      Asus RT-AC88U - as wap

      ECI CAB- G.INP disabled 8th April 2016


      click for ECI VDSL line stats

      click for Huawei VDSL line stats

    8. #7
      speedyuk's Avatar
      speedyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Cisco 867VAE-K9
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      Thanks skyeci, I think my problem may be no IPv6 default gateway/route.

      The output from show ipv6 route is

      Cisco867#show ipv6 route
      IPv6 Routing Table - default - 4 entries
      Codes: C - Connected, L - Local, S - Static, U - Per-user Static route
      B - BGP, R - RIP, ND - ND Default, NDp - ND Prefix
      DCE - Destination, NDr - Redirect, a - Application
      S 2A02:xxxx:xxxx:2D00::/56 [1/0]
      via Null0, directly connected
      C 2A02:xxxx:xxxx:2D00::/64 [0/0]
      via Vlan1, directly connected
      L 2A02:xxxx:xxxx:2D00::1/128 [0/0]
      via Vlan1, receive
      L FF00::/8 [0/0]
      via Null0, receive

      I have no entry for ::/0

      What mechanism do sky use to provide the default route?

      Thanks

    9. #8
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      There is no WAN IP global address per say, Sky use link local to their router. On FreeBSD it's RTSOLD that does the job of advertising and setting the route, not sure how your Cisco does it.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    10. #9
      speedyuk's Avatar
      speedyuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Cisco 867VAE-K9
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2018
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: IPv6 Configuration for Cisco 867VAE on Sky FTTC / VDSL

      Hi, I thought I'd let you know I have the IPv6 working now with my Cisco 867VAE. I was not going to be defeated. Most of my problem was due to doing what most normal IT engineers do and upgrade to the latest firmware. It seems Cisco have introduced either a bug or an incompatibility with the way Sky allocate the IPv6 default route / gateway. I found one other post on the net where someone else had the same issue and had to downgrade IOS to fix it. ( https://supportforums.cisco.com/t5/w...d/td-p/1733533 ).

      It wasn't until I downgraded to Cisco IOS Software, C860 Software (C860VAE-ADVSECURITYK9-M), Version 15.3(3)M3, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc1) that the ::0/ default route would show when running the ':show ipv6 route' command. As shown below.


      Cisco867#show IPv6 route
      IPv6 Routing Table - default - 5 entries
      Codes: C - Connected, L - Local, S - Static, U - Per-user Static route
      B - BGP, R - RIP, ND - ND Default, NDp - ND Prefix
      DCE - Destination, NDr - Redirect, a - Application
      ND ::/0 [2/0]
      via FE80::2D0:F6FF:FE38:8388, Ethernet0.101

      I don't know whether I have the optimum config but it is working never the less. Sky don't provide IPv6 DNS servers. You can use the IPv4 DNS to do AAAA resolution or you can add in some public IPv6 DNS server details to do native IPv6 DNS resolution. I've used the Google IPv6 DNS in my config.

      The Default Route is acquired via Router Advertisement / Solicitation. The IPv6 /56 prefix is acquired via DHCPv6.

      These are the IPv6 config settings I've used.


      ipv6 unicast-routing
      ipv6 dhcp pool sky-ipv6pool
      prefix-delegation pool sky-prefix
      dns-server 2001:4860:4860::8888
      dns-server 2001:4860:4860::8844
      !
      ipv6 cef
      !
      interface Ethernet0.101
      encapsulation dot1Q 101
      ipv6 enable
      ipv6 nd autoconfig default-route
      ipv6 dhcp client pd sky-prefix


      interface Vlan1
      ipv6 address sky-prefix ::1/64
      ipv6 enable
      ipv6 dhcp server sky-ipv6pool

      If anyone seeing this can suggest some improvements please let me know.

      Hope this helps someone else.

      P.S. Shonk , I think your comments regarding limitation to throughput refer to the older 800 series routers not the 867VAE with embedded ADSL/VDSL controller.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION