Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

    This is a discussion on Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix within the IPv6 forums, part of the Broadband Technical Help category; This is another useful bit of putty I have plagerised... For some reason, Microsoft decided that Windows 7 would autoconfigure ...

    1. #1
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      This is another useful bit of putty I have plagerised...

      For some reason, Microsoft decided that Windows 7 would autoconfigure IPv6 using a random identifier (not the MAC address / EUI-64) – they went on to decide that it would randomly assign temporary addresses which change constantly. This is an admin nightmare, not to mention *awful* when it comes to assigning DNS.

      So, here’s how to make Windows 7 behave as per every other OS…

      1. Open up a Command Prompt in Administrator mode (right-click, run as administrator)
      2. Run the following commands. Each one should respond “Ok”. If you didn’t do step 1 correctly, it will say the command required elevation.

      netsh interface ipv6 set privacy state=disabled store=active
      netsh interface ipv6 set privacy state=disabled store=persistent
      netsh interface ipv6 set global randomizeidentifiers=disabled store=active
      netsh interface ipv6 set global randomizeidentifiers=disabled store=persistent

      3. Exit the command prompt, and reboot.

      When your computer has rebooted, it should auto-configure itself using EUI-64 (based on the MAC address of the interface) within the subnet given in the router advertisement.

      There is also another useful link here:

      https://social.technet.microsoft.com...tpronetworking

      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    2. The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to marjohn56 For This Useful Post:

      chrcol (10-10-15),Isitme (09-10-15)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      chrcol's Avatar
      chrcol is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leics Central
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: 8800nl(bridge) + pfSense 2.4 N3150 unit + asus ac68 as WAP
      Sky TV: FreeSAT
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      Leics
      Posts
      262
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      good post.

    5. #3
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky FTTH
      Router: Edgerouter ERLite-3
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      I don't have Windows 7 to check anymore, but I'm pretty sure it assigns an EUI-64 address as well as the privacy extension addresses. So all you've done is disabled the privacy addresses that get used for outbound connections.

      If you want to to find your EUI-64 address to use for firewall rules or DNS records, look at ipconfig /all and find the public (starts with 2) IPv6 address on your adapter that doesn't have the word "temporary" next to it.

      If someone that still has Win7 can verify this for me please, if I'm wrong I'll happily retract it.

      Edit: Disregard this post, it does indeed only assign privacy addresses by default.
      Last edited by det; 03-11-15 at 01:58 PM. Reason: I was wrong

    6. #4
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      If that WERE the case that would be fine, but it doesn't. Search the web you'll find quite a bit about it out there.

      IPv6 Temporary Address - Enable or Disable - Windows 7 Help Forums
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    7. #5
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky FTTH
      Router: Edgerouter ERLite-3
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      Edit: Actually, doubled checked and you're right, it does appear to just use privacy extensions.
      Last edited by det; 03-11-15 at 01:08 PM. Reason: I was wrong.

    8. #6
      marjohn56's Avatar
      marjohn56 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cricklewood
      Broadband ISP: ZEN
      Router: Billion 8800NL(Modem Bridge) + OPNsense 20.7.a*
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2Tb+Mini
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Posts
      1,808
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 141 Times in 132 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      At present my server, which is the only device still running Win 7 has the fix in place. The reason for this was that my DNS entry ( ipv6 ) kept failing. I then discovered the auto-assigment issue, did that... no more problems. I am not about to disable those settings now, but I can assure you I had to do them to make it work, as many others have had to.
      --------------------------------------------------------
      Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity.
      --------------------------------------------------------

    9. #7
      det's Avatar
      det
      det is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky FTTH
      Router: Edgerouter ERLite-3
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Aug 2015
      Location
      London
      Posts
      84
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 IPv6 Auto-assignment fix

      Fair enough.

      It's a shame Windows doesn't have an extra tick box in the adapter settings to allow both address types in parallel, to bring it in-line with OSX and Ubuntu behaviour.

      I could've sworn I'd seen my Windows box use both, but looking at it it's probably because "ipconfig" (without /all) shows the preferred privacy address without "Temporary", even though it is.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION