Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    5GHz Wireless

    This is a discussion on 5GHz Wireless within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; I have to say i am impressed, i am only getting 5Mbit less than on a wired connection on this ...

    1. #1
      Kona Owner's Avatar
      Kona Owner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT HomeHub4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      456
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      5GHz Wireless

      I have to say i am impressed, i am only getting 5Mbit less than on a wired connection on this PC. The signal is no where near as high as it is on 2.4GHz and its going through a wall so im well chuffed, the wire can bugger off.

      John
      View My Flickr



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      518
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      My iPad gets 65mbps over 5ghz but 100mbps over 2.4ghz

      I've just purchased 20m of cat6 and a 8 port switch so now all 3 floors are wired.
      Annie 🦋..........
      My Sky+HD FAQ
      (now with more questions)
      My Sky hardware and setup




    4. #3
      Kona Owner's Avatar
      Kona Owner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT HomeHub4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      456
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Annie UK View Post
      My iPad gets 65mbps over 5ghz but 100mbps over 2.4ghz

      I've just purchased 20m of cat6 and a 8 port switch so now all 3 floors are wired.
      I think i would have bought HomePlugs.
      John
      View My Flickr


    5. #4
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      518
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      Homeplugs are hit and miss as they rely on good wiring, at least with brand new cat6 I know the condition of the set up is perfect and I can pump up to 1gbps up 'n' down the cable
      Annie 🦋..........
      My Sky+HD FAQ
      (now with more questions)
      My Sky hardware and setup




    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      at least with brand new cat6 I know the condition of the set up is perfect
      ..and its a lot cheaper than buying 3 or 4 homeplugs.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Kona Owner's Avatar
      Kona Owner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT HomeHub4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      456
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Annie UK View Post
      Homeplugs are hit and miss as they rely on good wiring, at least with brand new cat6 I know the condition of the set up is perfect and I can pump up to 1gbps up 'n' down the cable
      Never had "hit & Miss" with homeplugs and would happily recommend them to anyone, the speed in my sig is over homeplugs with the units as far as they can possibly be apart. I simply dont get the need for speed on an internal home network.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      ..and its a lot cheaper than buying 3 or 4 homeplugs.
      and a lot more trouble to install, well unless you like cable all over the shop that is i suppose.
      John
      View My Flickr


    8. #7
      Annie UK's Avatar
      Annie UK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LWFEL
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: TP-Link Archer C7
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Milky Way, Sol, Earth, UK, London
      Posts
      518
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Kona Owner View Post
      Never had "hit & Miss" with homeplugs and would happily recommend them to anyone, the speed in my sig is over homeplugs with the units as far as they can possibly be apart. I simply dont get the need for speed on an internal home network.
      I have a couple of servers on my LAN (Media, Web, Backup), the speed is rather useful when taking a full system backup image over the LAN. The more things that use the LAN the more the bandwidth is shared so the faster the LAN the more future proof you become.

      I have heard nightmare stories of users using homeplugs and wifi but never when people use cat5/6
      Annie 🦋..........
      My Sky+HD FAQ
      (now with more questions)
      My Sky hardware and setup




    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      There are clear advantages for each choice.

      HomePlugs are far more flexible, easily installed and work reasonably well. On the downside the encryption system used can slow the traffic down a little, wiring issues can affect things too and when they aren't set up properly neighbours can accidently gain access. The adaptors can also get quite hot in some cases.

      Currently most support up to 200mbps, but there are plenty which support 500mbps, with a few available now that support 1Gbit. Actual performance drops due to the factors listed above.

      Ethernet cable doesn't need encryption, so any traffic can run at upto the limit of the cable, switches or adaptors, whichever is lower. You also don't need to switch the Ethernet cable on, just plug it into the device you are using. In order to gain access you need physical access to the router or a switch.

      Whilst Cat 5 only supports up to 100mb, Cat 5e works at up to 1Gbit and Cat 6 10 Gbit.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #9
      Kona Owner's Avatar
      Kona Owner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: BT HomeHub4
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      456
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 13 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Annie UK View Post
      I have a couple of servers on my LAN (Media, Web, Backup), the speed is rather useful when taking a full system backup image over the LAN. The more things that use the LAN the more the bandwidth is shared so the faster the LAN the more future proof you become.

      I have heard nightmare stories of users using homeplugs and wifi but never when people use cat5/6
      Which is great but not applicable for probably over 90% of the UK home network users. Most people don't even know what a filter is and sit wondering why there broadband is crap let alone getting all excited about being able to shift massive amounts of data around over Ethernet.

      You get a typical person who wants the internet in an other room and i guarantee you the easiest and most elegant solution is "go to Argos and by 2 of these then plug them in"

      Getting back on to what this thread was started about i have to say yes ive expired flaky 2.4GHz but so far 5GHz seems far more robust.

      - - - Updated - - -

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      You also don't need to switch the Ethernet cable on, just plug it into the device you are using.
      Homeplugs effectively turn themselves off Scoobs so once they are on you just leave them
      John
      View My Flickr


    11. #10
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: 5GHz Wireless

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      There are clear advantages for each choice.

      HomePlugs are far more flexible, easily installed and work reasonably well. On the downside the encryption system used can slow the traffic down a little, wiring issues can affect things too and when they aren't set up properly neighbours can accidently gain access. The adaptors can also get quite hot in some cases.

      Currently most support up to 200mbps, but there are plenty which support 500mbps, with a few available now that support 1Gbit. Actual performance drops due to the factors listed above.

      Ethernet cable doesn't need encryption, so any traffic can run at upto the limit of the cable, switches or adaptors, whichever is lower. You also don't need to switch the Ethernet cable on, just plug it into the device you are using. In order to gain access you need physical access to the router or a switch.

      Whilst Cat 5 only supports up to 100mb, Cat 5e works at up to 1Gbit and Cat 6 10 Gbit.
      Absolutely nothing to do with the encryption it will be the RF characteristics.

      You can Do 1Gbit/s encrypted if you throw enough processing power at it, Heck my Edgerouter will do about 150Mbit/s of AES-256 IPSEC encrypted throughput.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION