Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    E6300 vs AMD 4400+

    This is a discussion on E6300 vs AMD 4400+ within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; Hi I have been offered a E6300 for 160.00, pretty much new. But I have a 4400 would it be ...

    1. #1
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      E6300 vs AMD 4400+

      Hi

      I have been offered a E6300 for 160.00, pretty much new.

      But I have a 4400 would it be worth to switch?

      Is the E6300 alot more powerful?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: E6300 vs AMD 4400+

      I am an Intel fan boy so I would say the E6300 is a better CPU. BUT, notice it is a big BUT, to use it you would need a compatible board, which, if you are using an AMD4400, yours is not. You would need an Intel board and possibly new memory.

      The price is also extortionate, for that money you could get a Quad Q9400 or even an i5.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: E6300 vs AMD 4400+

      Sorry its a full PC.

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: E6300 vs AMD 4400+

      In that case it is probably a good buy, but without full specs, you could not say for definite.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      canada16's Avatar
      canada16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Cardiff
      Posts
      590
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: E6300 vs AMD 4400+

      Intel Pentium E6300 (2.80GHz, 1066 FSB, 2MB cache)
      16X DVD+/-RW Drive with dual layer
      160GB (7.200rpm)
      2048MB (2x1024) 800MHz DDR2 Dual Channel
      English Genuine Windows 7 Home Premium (32 BIT)

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: E6300 vs AMD 4400+

      That looks pretty good, whether it is better than your present rig, you would only find out by trying it. If the WEI is available, that would give you an idea.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION