Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18

    ie8 and xp sp3

    This is a discussion on ie8 and xp sp3 within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; hi guys on my mothers laptop ive noticed i cant uninstall ie8 from it and it also locks up alot ...

    1. #1
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      ie8 and xp sp3

      hi guys on my mothers laptop ive noticed i cant uninstall ie8 from it and it also locks up alot when going through different sites its connected buy ethernet at the moment and wondered if you guys know what i can to fix this i dont want to use the recovery if i can help it thats a last resort there must be away i can fix this browser as for other browsers well i want to avoid firefox due to its bugs and memory problems any others would be greatful


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      i want to avoid firefox due to its bugs and memory problems
      What bugs and memory problems? There are millions using it with no problems.

      If you want to repair IE8, go to Tools>Internet Options and open the Advanced tab. Click the 'Reset...' button at the bottom of the pane. This will return it to its original state.

      You might first like to disable the Add-ons. Click Tools>Manage add-ons highlight each and click Disable. If this does not help, do a Reset.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      ah thanks isitme sorry if i sounded awful the memory problem people where having firefox when you open the task manager and it shows how much memory it uses it goes up and up and up till it crashes has this been fixed properly

    5. #4
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      That is not my experience, I am running Firefox 3.6 and find it uses much less resources than IE8.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #5
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      strange i ran the previous versions and i was getten that memory problem but im prepared to give firefox another go or any other browser as for ie8 im sick of it

    7. #6
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      i dont think xp is supported as well as it used to be

    8. #7
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      I've witnessed the FF memory issue in the current release as well as previous, think it may be more to do with interaction between FF and other software than anything. I use Chrome as a browser and even though it is similar in engines to FF I don't see any memory leak issues.
      One thing to try with IE 8 is as said above, start it with no add-ons enabled and see if it still does it.

    9. #8
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      im also trying a defragment program i have updated ff although i did reset ie8 and it is responding a little better than before

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      I've witnessed the FF memory issue in the current release as well as previous
      A lot of the problems are caused by add ons, not FF itself. There are so many available that some users keep adding them, not realizing that they slow down the application. This applies especially when first loading it, as it checks for updates to add ons before opening.

      Chrome is a good fast browser, but saddle it with a couple of dozen add ons and it is no faster than any other. It is a question of sacrificing some speed for convenience.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    11. #10
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      I have been using FF for ages and now on 3.6 and the only add ons I use are bit defender toolbar and McAfee site advisor and I haven't seen any memory leaks at all.

      Most likely to be add ons.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION