Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18

    ie8 and xp sp3

    This is a discussion on ie8 and xp sp3 within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; Wether it's add-ons or not (and I've seen the memory leak on a clean install but that's for another time ...

    1. #11
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      Wether it's add-ons or not (and I've seen the memory leak on a clean install but that's for another time lol) it's not helping the OP. There is no reason why IE 8 cannot be uninstalled since there are instructions on MS for it.
      How do I uninstall or remove Internet Explorer 8?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      but the problem with uninstalling ie8 it causes problems with certain sites which is a pain in the ass why cant microsoft or other sites support other browsers instead of crappy ie it sucks

    4. #13
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      also ive got another problem with ie and sp3 i cant uninstall sp3 it comes up with a error saying cant find file specified wtf is microsoft doing this on purpose to **** xp users off to get them to move to windows 7 it says i have to remove sp3 first before i can remove ie8 wtf

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      It looks like the Uninstal files have been deleted. If you want to fix it, run the Sp3 install again and this will replace the missing files. You can then remove it.

      Have you tried to repair IE as advised? It is a bit pointless when we make recommendations you either ignore or don't report back on

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      yea i restored ie back to default im gonna try and reinstall sp3 again to remove it

    7. #16
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      in vista there was a sp2 cleaner which removed the setup files, proboably the same in xp

    8. #17
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      If the laptop has Nvidia graphics/chipset, you may have the problem this can cause with Sp3. If so, the cure is to install the latest drivers.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #18
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: ie8 and xp sp3

      i think the graphics card is a intel chipset dont think its nvida or ati think its intels

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION