Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

    This is a discussion on Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 - within the General Computing and Internet forums, part of the Community channel category; Can anyone help me set up skype on Sagem 2504? There is tutorial available. When I tried to set it ...

    1. #1
      Decant30's Avatar
      Decant30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton - 0161 653
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      Can anyone help me set up skype on Sagem 2504?
      There is tutorial available. When I tried to set it up, it keeps referring me to administrator. I think I am setting up rght to accept skype.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      I'm assuming your trying to set up a USB version of Skype. What version are Windows are you using? Does your access to the computer have Administrator rights?

    4. #3
      Decant30's Avatar
      Decant30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton - 0161 653
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      There is no administration right in my computer. Do I need to plug in my USB camera and phone in you thing?

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      Just what are you trying to set up? Skype via your computer (in which case are you using a microphone/loudspeakers or a USB phone) or Skype direct from the Router so it will operate even when the computer is off?

      Also what operating system are you using? Most Windows versions assign Administrator rights to certain users but not all users have Administrator rights.

    6. #5
      Decant30's Avatar
      Decant30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton - 0161 653
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      What skype is referring me to is my network administrator, not my own computer. I have downloaded skype and tried to register but it would not connect. Sagem will not allow connection. How can I overcome that?

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      The Sagem will not stop you from connecting to Skype, only if you want to use voice chat etc.

      Try disabling any software firewall if you have one installed.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      Decant30's Avatar
      Decant30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton - 0161 653
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      I have antivirus AVG internet security 8.0, could firewall from this software dot it?
      Have you got skype working on Sagem? It is a bit risky to disable antivirus firewall, isn't?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      Skype works fine for me on any of the routers. I wrote the Skype tutorial

      Try disabling the firewall and see if it works.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      Decant30's Avatar
      Decant30 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Middleton - 0161 653
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2008
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Set up Skype on Sagem F@st 2504 -

      Excellent advice. I disabled the firewall of my AVG temporary and skype was allowed to load. I had to adjust the settings on AVG in order to allow skype access permanently. I am greatful to you. You are a geneous.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION