Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 30 of 30

    Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

    This is a discussion on Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping .. within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; I have just done a speed test ... ... although I don't know what it means, but I am just ...

    1. #21
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      I have just done a speed test ...



      ... although I don't know what it means, but I am just so happy that I have had a smooth changeover - hope I don't encounter problems!

      As this is new to me, I have read on here that the router should be re booted every day for the first 10days. This may be a silly question but how do you do this ... do you just unplug it and connect again?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      AWW's Avatar
      AWW
      AWW is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: East Kilbride,WSEKI
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      545
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      u are connecting to the exchange at a perfect 8meg enjoy

    4. #23
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Thanks Andy, haven't got a clue how you work it out but I have been browsing and it is a lot faster than the 2mb I had with ntlfreedom

      My router is still flickering although I read it was supposed to be steady ... I don't care as long as this continues!

    5. #24
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Quote Originally Posted by CYMRAES View Post
      I don't understand, when using sky bb you don't have to connect at all just open your browser and it's there?!
      That is how broadband works, you just need to connect your router and add the username and passwords (although in the Sky router they are already there) and off you go. You never need to install any of the software rubbish that comes on the CDs that ISPs send out.

    6. #25
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Glad to see you made it safe and sound. I bet it was easier than you thought Earlier too! Your stats look nice and healthy so far. Let us know if you have any problems.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db

    7. #26
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Quote Originally Posted by Alan b View Post
      That is how broadband works, you just need to connect your router and add the username and passwords (although in the Sky router they are already there) and off you go. You never need to install any of the software rubbish that comes on the CDs that ISPs send out.
      Well Alan, I was on broadband before but had to connect - I have not had a router before so I did not know what to expect.

      LAzarus,
      Glad to see you made it safe and sound. I bet it was easier than you thought Earlier too! Your stats look nice and healthy so far. Let us know if you have any problems.
      THanks, it was easier although quite bizarre - I just got disconnected from ntlfreedom and for a few minutes was trying to re connect. I then went to plug in the router and everything was flashing - I was expecting a connection to come up (as with my ntl freedom dial up) - nothing happened! For some reason I clicked on firefox browser and I noticed it was connected!! I hope I don't have teething problems, but I know where to come if I do.
      I am just so pleased that everything just went so smoothly after reading so many negative reports - I was one of the lucky ones.
      Thank you all for your help.
      Llinos

    8. #27
      Alan b's Avatar
      Alan b is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: 2 x Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      4,204
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 58 Times in 54 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Quote Originally Posted by CYMRAES View Post
      Well Alan, I was on broadband before but had to connect - I have not had a router before so I did not know what to expect.

      LAzarus,
      Oh I see now, if you use a normal modem then you do have to connect as your username and password is stored on your computer but with a router they are stored in the router itself so you will have a permanent connection even when your computer is turned off.

    9. #28
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Yes Alan, sorry if I did not explain properly at the beginning! This is why when I had connected the router (after losing connection with ntlfreedom) and nothing appeared like asking for username/password I thought I was without broadband or any internet connection! It was only by chance I clicked on the browser (expecting a message saying could not connect/load page or something) and discovered I was connected!

    10. #29
      smokingdragon's Avatar
      smokingdragon is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Hi

      Just noticed that you are on the Llantrisant Exchange as well!!

      I've been on Sky max since Wednesday, although I've only arrived back in the UK this afternoon and this is my first chance of using it. Apparently my son says it has been rock solid

      and is enjoying the unlimited downloads!!

      Since I've switched my own PC on it's been crashing the router, switch it off and no crashes- I think I have to test the Network card.

      enjoy yourself!!

      Simon

    11. #30
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Hi Simon,
      Yes I'm on Llantrisant exchange, but how could you tell? I'm in Pontyclun where are you?
      Anyway, hope you sort your pc out and it works fine. I am very happy that I have connected so smoothly and 2 days before estimated! Hope it keeps up

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION