Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 30

    Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

    This is a discussion on Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping .. within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; There are some pay-as-you go dial-up providers around if you get really stuck. Although don't stay on them too long ...

    1. #11
      Lazarus's Avatar
      Lazarus is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: STHYTHE
      Broadband ISP: Mid from 5 Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      New Forest, Hants
      Posts
      331
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      There are some pay-as-you go dial-up providers around if you get really stuck. Although don't stay on them too long as the cost would soon build up. I'm sure if you do a google search you could find a couple of numbers to write down in case of any problems.
      Asus P6T Deluxe - i7 920 @3.6GHz - 750GB Samsung F1 - 6GB OCZ Platinum 1600MHz - XFX GTX260 'Black Edition' - Tagan 1100W PSU - TT 'Big Water' 760i - Antec 1200 - Windows 7 64-bit - Ubuntu 9.04 64-bit

      ADSL Link..............Down .............Up
      Connection Speed..9215 kbps......606 kbps
      Line Attenuation... 20.0 db..........11.9 db
      Noise Margin........ 20.9 db..........22.0db


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Cheers Lazarus, I'll get myself prepared just in case In the meantime it's just a waiting game.

    4. #13
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Hi - you will need a dialup modem in your pc to use a payg dialup service. Depending on the age of your pc you may already have one.
      cheers
      dave

    5. #14
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Hi Dave, I do have a dial up modem in my pc so there wouldn't be a problem. Thanks for that.

    6. #15
      tdbsolutions's Avatar
      tdbsolutions is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      185
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      I would fire up the router now as some times Sky connects before they tell you. Will give you a bit of practice even if not connected yet.

      A lot of people say not to use the Sky BB CD and have a look at the router set up thread. Unless you really have to don't download the anti-virus on offer and it is another problem with router working correctly.
      One day you are the pigeon, but most days just the statue ...

    7. #16
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Hi tdbsolutions, I thought you weren't supposed to connect the router up until you knew you were connected? The router, filters and cables etc are still in the box ... all I have done is have a look at the contents, the step by step guide and taken a gulp! I have read around the forums here and understood that I should not set anything up until line is active with sky.

      Perhaps I have read so much I am confused!

    8. #17
      tdbsolutions's Avatar
      tdbsolutions is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Isleworth
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Isleworth
      Posts
      185
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      I came on line two days before the date Sky gave me.

      Get it all ready and make sure you have read all the set up threads and print off relevant tutorials. Once your date arrives fire it up and make any necessary tweaks and you will be roaring along on the WWW :-)
      One day you are the pigeon, but most days just the statue ...

    9. #18
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      I agree with tbd - there should be no problem connecting your router prior to the date - it just wont connect. Also as stated dont use the setup disk or the antivirus included. If you have a look for any of newsreaders posts his avatar shows the best use for the disk - lol
      dave

    10. #19
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Hi Dave,
      I have read the posts here regarding the cd! I have also read the posts here on setting up, and I shall set up (hopefully) as instructed here! I don't want to load the antivirus they provide either!
      THanks for your help and support .. much appreciated. I might try and set up around the 10th (Saturday) just to see if anything happens!

      If I don't report here at all next week you will know that I have messed up, or sky have messed up!

    11. #20
      CYMRAES's Avatar
      CYMRAES is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      124
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Taken the plunge ...moving from ntl to sky ... here's hoping ..

      Connection day Monday 12th .... this morning I was on the internet with ntlfreedom and around 10.30 I had lost connection! I thought oh no I have no internet now untill Monday at least I went to connect the sky router to see if I would get a connection - lights flashing all over and nothing. About ten minutes later, lights still flashing but I just clicked to open firefox and I was on the internet! I don't understand, when using sky bb you don't have to connect at all just open your browser and it's there?!

      Well I went to http://192.168.0.1/ as seen on here and there it was - I am connected Lights still flashing on router but at least I am online. I copied stats:

      System Up Time 00:31:09
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 498 663 0 143 853 00:11:16
      LAN 10M/100M 5747 5989 0 2865 518 00:31:07
      WLAN 11M/54M 1954 0 0 90 0 00:30:57

      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 8096 kbps 416 kbps
      Line Attenuation 30.0 db 18.0 db
      Noise Margin 10.7 db 14.0 db

      Don't know what they mean - I shall have to read a bit more here! I am just over the moon that I am connected!! Not only that but 2 days early

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION