Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 37 of 37

    54mbs or 108mbs

    This is a discussion on 54mbs or 108mbs within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; @reddwarfcrew Yes - I've never heard of duplex in this wireless context. As far as I'm aware, 270Mbps (aka "draft ...

    1. #31
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: 54mbs or 108mbs

      @reddwarfcrew

      Yes - I've never heard of duplex in this wireless context.

      As far as I'm aware, 270Mbps (aka "draft N") is considered a bit of a joke. I haven't seen any throughput tests yet but my guess is that in real world home environments it is likely to be poor. Netgear's Rangemax technology though, which I think tends to be offered with this, seems to be pretty good at extending range.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 54mbs or 108mbs

      I was referring as in Ethernet to Ethernet network;

      I wonder what the 'real' speeds are in both PCs are connected via cable to the router.
      I havent heard in Duplex for wirless either!

    4. #33
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: wireless connection 54mbps not 125?

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      The only realway to test the 180mb or 54mb is to do a quick filesharing test on the network!
      That will usually max out the connection, Providing the other computers duplex settings are correct!
      Sorry my mistake then. As your post (and this whole thread) was all about wireless 54mb and 108mb, to me I thought that you were suggesting there were duplex settings for wireless.

    5. #34
      Saturday's Avatar
      Saturday is offline Sky User Super Mod
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,091
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 53 Times in 48 Posts

      Re: 54mbs or 108mbs

      Me too. No idea who Fibre is quoting in his response - certainly not himself or you as far as I can see

    6. #35
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: 54mbs or 108mbs

      Quoting;http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/41744-post26.html

      That post!

      Soz if I confused anyone!

    7. #36
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 54mbs or 108mbs

      funny that practically nothing of the sort about 56mb or 108mb wired is in the kms that I seen and assuming this person does infact work at sky be it sales or umm tier1 well never know but what is to know that if hes in tech and this knowledge has been passed around, o dear theres going to be some crazy phone conversations.

    8. #37
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: 54mbs or 108mbs

      yes and although we welcome Sky/Easynet staff having a valuable input on Skyuser we would also like it to be factual and professional, otherwise it just making Sky look bad and also will justify Sky banning staff from having an input on here.
      "To help would be a great adventure"

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION