Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    help required

    This is a discussion on help required within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; hi my mate has just bought a computer [his first [well he's only 50] but it has no dial up ...

    1. #1
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      help required

      hi my mate has just bought a computer [his first [well he's only 50] but it has no dial up modem [seems this is standard practice with dell] anyhoo i have an old bt voyager 105 modem [used it for aol bb]can he use this ? he wants to try dial up for free for a month with aol to see if "i can get to grips with this technology lark as he puts it .the cheapest usb modem i can see is 10 from amazon but after paying 600 quid he's a bit reluctant to spend a 10ner


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48
      Not on dial up he will need either a USB dial up one or a cheap 56k PCI modem - both around a tenner max
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      cheers

      i thought so , i just cant believe that a dial up modem is an optional extra now [dell were wanting 24 to fit it b4 delivery [i found this out for him by going onto their website and found it on the 3rd page of the buy your pc screen [not very obvious] will phone him let him know
      thanks

    5. #4
      Johnny7's Avatar
      Johnny7 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: High Wycombe (SMHY)
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      High Wycombe
      Posts
      131
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      "He wants to try dial up for free for a month with aol to see if "i can get to grips with this technology lark"

      I would have thought the likelyhood is he would be 'put-off' by using dial-up whereas broadband, (i.e. always-on with no need to dial-up or log-off), would be much easier and more likely to satisfy.

      Not all BB ISPs require a 12 month commitment, however if he already has Sky Digital then he could try Base for just the 40 quid connection and if he likes it and uses it a lot upgrade to Mid.

      Personaly, I would avoid dial-up!
      John in High Wycombe

    6. #5
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      johhny 7

      he is a complete newbie [thought bt had to put a line from his master socket to where his pc is [in his sons room ]if he only has dial up he cant break it too quick and it gets him used to the idea of going online [have shown him my set up and how internet works [rocket science was mentioned a few times ]as in it's like rocket science and that was setting up a hotmail account so its slow as we go [his sons 28 and as bad as his father [so no help there]and he doesnt have sky so its bt ,aol ,pipex etc

    7. #6
      iannufc's Avatar
      iannufc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Jarrow (NEJW)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Hebburn - 1.65km from exchange
      Posts
      226
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      You can get an internal 56K modem on ebay for 3 quid. I suspect you may pick up an external one cheaper than that.



    8. #7
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      hi

      will try ebay [i had an old usb one [but i put it in a special place and i cant find it ]i dont want to strip the pc down as its brand new [and i imagine its warranty would be void if i started messing about with the gubbins ]

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION