Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    Thermal Paste.. Standard Ok??

    This is a discussion on Thermal Paste.. Standard Ok?? within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Hi guys, Upgrading my processor, 1.7 celeron to a 2.8 P4. I've got a good cooler for it which has ...

    1. #1
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thermal Paste.. Standard Ok??

      Hi guys,


      Upgrading my processor, 1.7 celeron to a 2.8 P4. I've got a good cooler for it which has come with its own thermal paste stuff but i was wondering if its worth bothering with buying a more upmarket type?

      I heard Artic Silver is supposed to be good, for example.

      But does it really make a differance?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Hornet's Avatar
      Hornet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eastbourne, SDESTBR
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Billion Bipac 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Sunshine Coast
      Posts
      696
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      The thermal paste that comes with it is fine but Artic Silver is better in my opinion, but at the end of the day it's upto you.

    4. #3
      CaptainK's Avatar
      CaptainK is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
      No point buying the exotic stuff unless you plan on overclocking your machine.

      The ordinary stuff works well enough - just had to replace my motherboard and had to sort out the heatsink/fan and CPU (Athlon 64, 3.4ghz) Running all day no problems.

      Bloke in Maplins told me not to put too much on because too much acts like an insulator????

      You'll only need a tiny amount so it's not worth coughing up 7 + for the "better stuff" when you'll likely use about a tenth of what's in the tube.

      Google on how to apply the stuff if you've not done it before.

    5. #4
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok cheers guys,

      I guess it's like a lot of things.. spend a bit more and get something better.. but realisticly its not always needed.

      Just waiting for my cpu to turn up ... heat sink jobby came today.. got a gigabyte 3D Rocket. Supposed to be really good, for what i'll be using it on at least.

      I'm not really sure about over clocking so i'll leave that alone for now. I only play older games (FreeLancer, MechWarrior4 etc) anyway so 2.8ghz will be more than enough. I've got an old 800mhz pc, maybe i could overclock that!


      Definatly one of the bestings i've done reacently, joining up here. With over 2000 people, someone is bound to know the answer to everyones questions.

    6. #5
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Im running an 3.6ghz with standard cooling and its running sweet, I dont OverClock but it seems fine!

      @SteCole77, You shouldnt need any additional cooling unless you really needs it, Also unless your overclocking 2.8ghz shouldnt really be a problem?

    7. #6
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Ok cool,

      The cooler was only 20 and as the pc was free, its not so bad. I have an underlying need to tweak things!

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Its really upto you i suppose?

    9. #8
      SteCole77's Avatar
      SteCole77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Manchester Irlam - MRIRL
      Broadband ISP: Connect
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      103
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Well everything, apart from topnotch thermal paste, is bought and paid for already.

      I'm not sure if the cpu comes with a heatsink/fan etc, so i've bought the 3D Rocket.

    10. #9
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3
      Just give your old heatsink/fan a good clean! Also make sure your wearing an Anti-Static wristband!

      Also where did you get this processor from, For 0.00 you most probably wont get a Fan/Heatsink?

    11. #10
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      handy tip if you no anti static wristband touch a copper pipe before hand
      "To help would be a great adventure"

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION