Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

    This is a discussion on Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; I have a 30 month old 1TB Amstrad 895C Sky+ HD box in my living room and 2 Freesat boxes ...

    1. #1
      clevertrevor's Avatar
      clevertrevor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

      I have a 30 month old 1TB Amstrad 895C Sky+ HD box in my living room and 2 Freesat boxes in other (bed) rooms.

      For several weeks now I have lost a whole series of HD and SD channels on all 3 sat boxes with message not receiving satellite signal.


      When I look at the Sky+ box settings menu, whilst viewing a good channel; both input signal strengths/quality are good.

      But if I select one of the missing channels signal strength / quality drops immediately, usually on input 2, to zero and "not locked" appears.

      As the signal has been lost on the two freesat boxes as well it occurs to me that it could be the quad LNB but any ideas how to fix it?

      Has anything changed recently transponder etc?

      Is there an electronic switch needed for the LNB?

      I do hope you can help and thanks.

      To provide a bit more of an idea, here are some of the missing channels :

      106 Sky1HD
      107 Sky Living HD
      108 Sky Atlantic HD
      113 Universal HD
      118 ITV2 HD
      119 ITV3 HD
      120 ITV4 HD
      122 Sky Living It
      127 ComedyCtrl+1
      128 ComedyCtrl X


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

      It might be a broken LNB, I haven't seen a list of channel polarity recently but that would be my first thought.

    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

      A quick check shows all of these missing channels are Horizontally polarised (which means the STB's have to send a 18 volt signal up the coax to switch from Vertical polarisation which is a nominal 13 volts). As all of your STB's seem to be missing the channels it seems almost certain your LNB has developed a fault. If you can receive ITV 3 but not ITV 3 HD then it's the polarisation as they are on different transponders and opposite polarity.

      Another possibility is still a faulty LNB but relates to the 22 KHz tone used to switch between low and high bands. The channels I have checked from your list are all high band (But I didn't check them all) so it could be that this tone has failed and effects all 4 of the quad outputs.
      Low band is from 10.70GHZ to 11.70GHZ
      High band is from 11.70GHZ to 12.75GHZ and all these LNB's are the same.

      Fix is by replacement. You could do this yourself if you can reach the dish SAFELY! You can pick up a suitable LNB off eBay for a few pounds. A professional fix will be a lot more expensive as you are paying for travel/labour. If you do it yourself then carefully and gently remove the existing LNB (but don't even move the dish slightly) and place the new one in EXACTLY the same as the old one including the LNB rotation (called scew).


      Good luck.
      Last edited by dms05; 30-04-14 at 03:11 PM.

    5. #4
      clevertrevor's Avatar
      clevertrevor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

      Thanks dms05,
      I can receive ITV 3!
      The dish is very easy and safe to reach and I have a new quad LNB so I'll go for it!
      My only question is about the scew. Does this refer to the rotation of the LNB in its holder (clockwise or anticlockwise) ?
      I seem to remember that there is some kind of calibration on the holder.

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

      Quote Originally Posted by clevertrevor View Post
      Thanks dms05,
      I can receive ITV 3!
      The dish is very easy and safe to reach and I have a new quad LNB so I'll go for it!
      My only question is about the scew. Does this refer to the rotation of the LNB in its holder (clockwise or anticlockwise) ?
      I seem to remember that there is some kind of calibration on the holder.
      Yes it's turned slightly clockwise looking from the LNB towards the dish. As the Astra signal is very strong in the UK the scew isn't that critical but you might as well do it properly! Different dishes have different ways to attach/secure the LNB so you'll have to work that out when you are up close.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to dms05 For This Useful Post:

      clevertrevor (30-04-14)

    8. #6
      clevertrevor's Avatar
      clevertrevor is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2013
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Recent loss of certain channels on Sky+ HD box and Freesat boxes

      Dear dms05,

      Just a quick note to say it worked a treat thanks so very much.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION