Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 14

    New Improved Network.

    This is a discussion on New Improved Network. within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Hi all. Hope someone can help out. I have just had a letter today from Sky saying that I am ...

    1. #1
      Cyber's Avatar
      Cyber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New Improved Network.

      Hi all.

      Hope someone can help out.

      I have just had a letter today from Sky saying that I am going to be transfered over to their New Improved Network on 21 June.

      I know that I am not on the SVBN at the moment so does this mean I am going over to it?

      The only problem I have is that I have a life line connected, will there be a problem with this? Also, will I have any issues with the Broadband?

      Thanks for any advice.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      Make sky aware of the lifeline in use and tell them you cannot lose the line for any extended time when they transfer your tie pair at the exchange.

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,206
      Thanks
      847
      Thanked 2,225 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      Do as PaulSky suggests and make them aware of the Lifeline and also ask for someone to contact you before and after the line is switched over.

      Generally speaking though your line won't be disconnected for more than a few minutes. If you have a mobile phone, keep this charged up and near you in case it is needed on the day.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #4
      Cyber's Avatar
      Cyber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      Update in the transfer.

      Thanks to both of you for the information.

      I have called Sky today and they've said they will have to cancel the transfer due to the Lifeline. They said there may be problems so canceled it to be safe.

      Thanks again for your help...

    6. #5
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      I'll let you know how I get on as I'm also due to be moved onto the new network on June 21st.

    7. #6
      Cyber's Avatar
      Cyber is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2010
      Posts
      53
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      OK, keep us posted on how it goes.

      As I have mentioned my transfer has been canceled due to the Lifeline that I have.

    8. #7
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      It looks like I've just been changed over to the new network.

      Broadband and phone went down today for about 20minutes today at 13:55

      Only 2 days late but hey ho as it was supposed to happen on the 21st!!!

      The dial tone now sounds slightly different than before and there's a couple of extra menu options when dialing 1571 (voicemail)

      Broadband is syncing slightly lower than before (at 22457 down instead of the usual 23072 but that could be the weather as it's chucking it down here today!!) but other than that I not noticed anything different so far!!

      I wasn't sure if DLM would kick in again but it looks like it doesn't.

      Edit - noticed the 1st hop after my router when doing a on a tracert is now different. It's now 02dbbabe.bb.sky.com (I wonder who named that!!!) before it was something like LCEAR1.dhcp.bb.sky.com (LCEAR is my exchange code)

      Edit2 - Not over impressed with the voicemail message a caller now gets for missed calls as it now mentions your full telephone number and area code. It's now along the lines of 'Welcome to the Sky Talk Voicemail service for 01XXX XXXXXX [telephone number], please leave your message after the tone....'

      The missed call line tone is now also different than before and it tells you the number phone that called you when you listen to the message, even though I have callerID anyway.
      Last edited by James_Mitchell; 23-06-11 at 04:17 PM.

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,206
      Thanks
      847
      Thanked 2,225 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      Those issues are down to software.

      Understandably each telecoms company will have their own software and each will have different things that can be set in different ways.

      The Caller ID & Ansa-phone facilities are FOC with Sky though.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      phil123's Avatar
      phil123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Scarborough - MYSCA
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2009
      Location
      Scarborough
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      I've just received the same letter.

      If I go to the web address (as indicated in the letter) for info it says -

      Network Transfer

      Can I contact Sky if Iím concerned about the network changes or donít wish to move?

      If you have some more questions, or would rather we did not move your services onto the new Sky Voice and Broadband Network please call 08442 410 046. Youíll need your Sky customer number handy.
      I take it that I'm better off not moving over the full LLU, as this gives me the option to migrate away using a MAC at a later date if I need to?

      Has anyone had any experience of asking not to be moved for that reason?

      Thanks in advance.

    11. #10
      Exdee's Avatar
      Exdee is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LSXXX
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2010
      Posts
      1,556
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 186 Times in 179 Posts

      Re: New Improved Network.

      Quote Originally Posted by phil123 View Post
      I take it that I'm better off not moving over the full LLU, as this gives me the option to migrate away using a MAC at a later date if I need to?
      True. I can't see it being a problem if you tell them straight up that this is why you would prefer not to be moved over to SVBN.

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to Exdee For This Useful Post:

      phil123 (03-08-11)

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION