Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Sky and IPv6?

    This is a discussion on Sky and IPv6? within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Seeing how it's " IPv6 Day" ..... Just curious .... Wonder if anyone knows what, if any, Sky's plans are ...

    1. #1
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky and IPv6?

      Seeing how it's "IPv6 Day" ..... Just curious ....

      Wonder if anyone knows what, if any, Sky's plans are with regards to IPv6?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Pengwern's Avatar
      Pengwern is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WNOSW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      242
      Thanks
      41
      Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts

      Re: Sky and IPv6?

      I was going to suggest that they would have problems counting past 5, but since they have 6 toes on each foot, they might be able to count that high!!

      On a serious note, I'm sure it's in the pipework, just under wraps at present. I'm certain the back-end kit can cope with ipv6.

    4. #3
      PaulSky's Avatar
      PaulSky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      4,202
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 16 Times in 16 Posts

      Re: Sky and IPv6?

      All ISPs will have plans for IPV6, if they don't they will be in big trouble in the near future. At present testing has begun by the big guns and no doubt information learned by them will be fed out to others.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,206
      Thanks
      847
      Thanked 2,225 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: Sky and IPv6?

      The availability of new blocks of IPv4 numbers has already run out.

      The last time I looked into this, IPv6 was going to be rolled out to everyone in October this year.

      As has already been pointed out, any ISPs who cannot work with IPv6 are going to have serious problems after that date.

      I've just had a quick search for some more recent stories. It now looks like some firms are trialling IPv6 now. For example Vodafone are testing it in Portugal until March 31st 2012.

      France won't start to transition until 2014.

      Operators to Test IPv6 as Rollout Moves Slowly Forward

      8 Security Considerations for IPv6 Deployment

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky and IPv6?

      IPv4 will run alongside IPv6 for many years to come. The main problem with its implementation is that very few of the cheaper home routers supplied by ISPs are capable using IPv6. Whether this can be achieved by firmware is debatable. I have read somewhere that some 3 rd party firmware can do it, but I don't know if it has been tested. Just imagine the cost if every router has to be replaced.

      AAISP.NET one of the very few UK ISPs who support IPv6 will supply it, but you must have your own capable router and be able to set it up. I don't think any of the larger ISPs support it, although I would hope that BT Infinity will do.

      EDIT: Meant to add this link - http://aaisp.net.uk/broadband.html
      Last edited by Isitme; 08-06-11 at 09:12 PM.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,206
      Thanks
      847
      Thanked 2,225 Times in 2,093 Posts

      Re: Sky and IPv6?

      I guess that if you factor in a simple fact:

      Most people couldn't give a damn over updating their computers, let alone their router.

      From this simple statement, I guess you could say that the majority of people out there would seriously be struggling with the roll-out of IPv6.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      sam_skyuser's Avatar
      sam_skyuser is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Arrowebrook
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: TP-Link VR900 ( vdsl2 modem/router )
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Sep 2010
      Posts
      100
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky and IPv6?

      Thanks for all the interesting replies ...from what I can tell, there does seem to be, for the most part at least, a lack of interest to start moving to IPv6 but from everything I've read and seen about the situation, if the major outfits dont make provision for IPv6, then eventually there could end up being a two tier system with those only capable of running IPv4, not being able to 'reach' or access IPv6 based only sites.

      It looks like the company Billion is one of the few companies at the moment that are offering IPv6 kit.... I guess it's going to take a lot more companies to start offering IPv6 capable gear before we see a major switch to the new protocol.

      My guess is that big ISP's, like Sky, will have to splash out a lot of dosh, not only for their backend gear, but if they are also going to supply their customers with new kit for IPv6.

      It's going to be interesting to see how this all develops but lets hope that Sky are on top of this and we dont get left behind and end up as the poor relations on the internet : - )

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION