Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

    This is a discussion on taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Hi i have taken the plunge and i am transfering my equiment to N1 equiment. as follows n1 router modem ...

    1. #1
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      767
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      taken the plunge and i am transfering to N1 equiment

      Hi i have taken the plunge and i am transfering my equiment to N1 equiment. as follows

      n1 router modem
      n1 pcmica card
      n1 desktop wireless adapter (in another room)

      would you recommend an new ethernet card thats reads at 1000mbps on my main computer (the one iam typing this on) its fitted with a 10/100 ethernet card board mounted.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      The 'N' refers to a wireless standard. Having a gigabit ethernet card will make no difference unless your router also supports gigabit and you are connecting to it using ethernet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      767
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      The 'N' refers to a wireless standard. Having a gigabit ethernet card will make no difference unless your router also supports gigabit and you are connecting to it using ethernet.
      i know it means wireless but i will be having a wireless computer in another room. and a wireless laptop in another room. this computer will be connected via ethernet does N1 belkin router support gigabit speeds if so would i be able to download a 1gb file in less than 30secs. if i am a 10/100/1000 ethernet card to my main desktop.

      as follows

      1 front bedroom computer will be wireless belkin F5D8001ee
      1 laptop in kitchen will be wireless belkin F5D8013uk
      1 this main computer will be wired to the router Wired to a belkin Modem Router F5D8631-4

      you must move with the times.
      Last edited by paulcarrm9mx; 30-03-10 at 03:41 PM.

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      Quote Originally Posted by paulcarrm9mx View Post
      i know it means wireless but i will be having a wireless computer in another room. and a wireless laptop in another room. this computer will be connected via ethernet does N1 belkin router support gigabit speeds if so would i be able to download a 1gb file in less than 30secs. if i am a 10/100/1000 ethernet card to my main desktop.

      as follows

      1 front bedroom computer will be wireless belkin F5D8001ee
      1 laptop in kitchen will be wireless belkin F5D8013uk
      1 this main computer will be wired to the router Wired to a Belkin Modem Router F5D8631-4

      you must move with the times.
      You don't have a source that can provide the 1GB (the case is important) file. Everything else is wireless.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    6. #5
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      767
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      Quote Originally Posted by Proppinupthebar View Post
      You don't have a source that can provide the 1GB (the case is important) file. Everything else is wireless.
      please explain will the router be able to transfer data at 1000mbps if i have a 10/100/1000 ethernet card installed

      and yes the other 2 computers will be wireless

    7. #6
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      more importantly we don't have gigabit infrastructure in the UK, even if we go fibre to cabinet and have 50 meg/sec speed a 10/100 card is certainly enough to cope with that.

      Gigabit networks are great if you are throwing around a LOT of big files within the network but apart from that it won't be any use for the internet for a good while yet.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    8. #7
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      checking the Beklin website the N1 router is only 10/100 anyways.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    9. #8
      paulcarrm9mx's Avatar
      paulcarrm9mx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      767
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
      Blog Entries
      2

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      more importantly we don't have gigabit infrastructure in the UK, even if we go fibre to cabinet and have 50 meg/sec speed a 10/100 card is certainly enough to cope with that.

      Gigabit networks are great if you are throwing around a LOT of big files within the network but apart from that it won't be any use for the internet for a good while yet.
      thankyou i know understand. N1 equiment will see me into the future for quite some time then in terms of wireless coverage

    10. #9
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: taken the plunge and transfered to N1 equiment

      does N1 belkin router support gigabit speeds if so would i be able to download a 1gb file in less than 30secs.
      I don't think the N1 has a gigabit interface, you need the N1+ for that-
      Belkin : N+ Wireless Router

      If you have a gigabit card and a gigabit router you would theoretically be able to transfer data from one PC to another similarly equipped one at a rate of 125Mb per second. The true world speed will be much less than that, as it is also governed by the speed of the HDD on the PCs. It will not make one bit of difference to your internet download speed. This is governed by the speed of your internet connection.

      Called out by "she who must be obeyed" in the middle of posting.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION