Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    View Poll Results: What should I install, Windows 7, 64 or 32 bit or stick with Vista

    Voters
    36. You may not vote on this poll
    • 32BIT

      16 44.44%
    • 64BIT

      17 47.22%
    • STICK WITH VISTA

      3 8.33%
    Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 99

    Windows 7 would you!

    This is a discussion on Windows 7 would you! within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Originally Posted by stevvi I note HP's site says "HP Software & Driver downloads will be available closer to the ...

    1. #41
      TheVoyager's Avatar
      TheVoyager is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: WRBRIX
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet Unl.Fibre
      Router: TP-Link VR2600
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB *2
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Location
      Camberwell, London
      Posts
      171
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Quote Originally Posted by stevvi View Post
      I note HP's site says "HP Software & Driver downloads will be available closer to the official release of Windows® 7, which is scheduled for October 22, 2009." So one would hope they'd have this sorted soon.



      I think I first started off with an Apple II but we used to use punch cards in school! I suddenly feel so very old...
      I think I forgot to mention they will not even load properly under Vista Home Premium Pro never mind Win7
      Apple II in school - PAH! you're only a youngster - we had to use slide rules. 2.3 years and I get my bus pass
      Bob


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      stevvi's Avatar
      stevvi is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Apr 2009
      Posts
      148
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Quote Originally Posted by TheVoyager View Post
      I think I forgot to mention they will not even load properly under Vista Home Premium Pro never mind Win7
      Apple II in school - PAH! you're only a youngster - we had to use slide rules. 2.3 years and I get my bus pass
      Does anything load properly in Vista?

      I remember slide rules and log books... well, I'd forgotten about them until you mentioned it!

    4. #43
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Does anything load properly in Vista?
      The only problem I have had with Vista is listening to others complain about it.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #44
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Quote Originally Posted by stevvi View Post
      I remember slide rules and log books... well, I'd forgotten about them until you mentioned it!

      Faber Castel guessing sticks - now there's a 'rave from the grave'!
      Still got my Otis tubular slide rule. Only about 10" fully extented but equivalent to a slide rule 5 feet long!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    6. #45
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Quote Originally Posted by Ned Ludd View Post
      Only about 10" fully extented but equivalent to a slide rule 5 feet long!
      I bet you tell all the girls that.

      The only problem I can see is that hardware manufacturers will hold back on supporting 64bit fully until they are compelled to, ie remove 32bit altogether, but that is still a way off.

      At least the next Xbox will have the win 7 at it's heart (the 360 runs a special version of XP which you can see if the box throws a wobbly) rather than Vista, if that had happened I would have jumped ship there and then.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    7. #46
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Quote Originally Posted by Undecided Adrian View Post
      The only problem I can see is that hardware manufacturers will hold back on supporting 64bit fully until they are compelled to, ie remove 32bit altogether, but that is still a way off.

      And, even then, they may still not provide them!
      Netgear released 32bit Vista drivers for their SC101 SAN device, but they have steadfastly remained quiet about 64bit drivers. Unlike Win7 32bit, there has never been a workaround found either.
      I would like to go 64bit with seVen but I rely on my SC101 for backups and file sharing and I'm not prepared to spend even more to replace it!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    8. #47
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      I'm going to run W7 32 bit. I've tried 32 and 64 bit and seen no performance difference (on my 4 GB Laptop with Core2 Duo) even though 64 bit addresses the final 600 MB of memory. Just to check I also tried Linux (Ubuntu) 32 and 64 bit versions on the same machine and saw no difference. So I'll stick with 32 bit. But at least the drivers are already working in the 64 bit version of W7 and Ubuntu.

      I'll continue using XP on a 3 year old laptop because it doesn't support the graphics for Vista/W7 so why change.

    9. #48
      Kbramman's Avatar
      Kbramman is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dulwich
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Location
      London
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      I'll be using 64bit on my pc and 32 bit on my laptop.

      The pc currently runs with 4gb anyway and I'll up that up to either 8 or 16gb when I get my copy.

      No point on the laptop having 64bit, more hassle than its worth as can can't swap bits out if they don't release 64 bit drivers.

    10. #49
      Undecided Adrian's Avatar
      Undecided Adrian is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Stevenage
      Broadband ISP: BT
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      2,539
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 23 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Same, the wife's laptop will be getting 32 bit, especially as it is a HP laptop and they really bad at supporting 64 bit.

      But also it doesn't need anything else it as it only has 3 gig of RAM.

      Thing is I have 8 gig of RAM in my Gaming rig (and that is the maxium that my motherboard can take) and I am also tempted to get another graphics card and SLI that up as well.

      Next PC will have a mobo that can take 16 gig of memory and possibly 3+ graphics cards slots, but that won't be for a good long while yet.
      I'm a PC, and Windows 7 Backup saved my sanity when BitDefender imploded !!!

    11. #50
      Zook's Avatar
      Zook is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MK
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102 (Black One)
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Windows 7 would you!

      Some of you may find this interesting > Talking About Windows | The Making of Windows 7 - just click download to watch

     

     
    Page 5 of 10 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION