Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    do you still have an ionica dish?

    This is a discussion on do you still have an ionica dish? within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; just noticed we still have the old school ionica dish on the roof are these still used for anything since ...

    1. #1
      rbrookes5's Avatar
      rbrookes5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      47
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      do you still have an ionica dish?

      just noticed we still have the old school ionica dish on the roof

      are these still used for anything since the company went bust or can they be used for anything
      Last edited by rbrookes5; 17-11-07 at 02:32 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dtr44's Avatar
      dtr44 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: halfway wshal
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      glasgow
      Posts
      1,022
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: do you still have an ionica dish?

      are you sure thats not a snare drum [u could use it as a barbecue [although getting up to it might be a problem [have never seen one of those]

    4. #3
      mickeymixx's Avatar
      mickeymixx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: do you still have an ionica dish?

      I have been looking into the same thing.
      I had a dish on my house when i moved in and have removed it and had a good look at it by the looks of things its info was to use 4 cables and the power via 2 cables.
      i have been trying to find out what the inside unit is like. im sure if you was to give it a few tweaks inside and point a dish to a dish they should connect to each other. i was told the unit inisde the house made its own dial tone and then called out after you dialed the number. kind of like a mobile (this info was told by a friend and may not be true)

      have you go any of the other ionica bits we could work from that.

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: do you still have an ionica dish?

      Full history [url]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ionica_(company)
      Last edited by dms05; 03-02-09 at 10:53 AM. Reason: Correcting link

    6. #5
      irn-bru-32's Avatar
      irn-bru-32 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01382
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: do you still have an ionica dish?

      my brother-inlaw used to work for sky, fitting/installing sky and sky dishes and not once have i seen one of those lol.

    7. #6
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: do you still have an ionica dish?

      They still have a website running, which seems a bit strange if they are out of business -
      Ionica Home Page

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #7
      skypaulusplus's Avatar
      skypaulusplus Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: do you still have an ionica dish?

      Ionica's website is now back up and running as from Jan 2009. Ionica Home Page **
      and nearly 10 years from it shutting down, it could be back, like those boxes for dialing 13535

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION