Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 21

    HD TV's are poo

    This is a discussion on HD TV's are poo within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Just got a new 32" samsung LCD TV and all I can say is I hope I can return it. ...

    1. #1
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      HD TV's are poo

      Just got a new 32" samsung LCD TV and all I can say is I hope I can return it.

      Try watching anything thats not in HD and the picture quality is cr@p, its like watching through fine netting, I always said digital and now HD are just money making scams.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      The picture is only as good as the source material.

      for me, the quality of the content is not up to the right level yet (in enough quantity). I have seen some fantastic HD content, but its too few and far between.

      Digital TV is far superior than analgue, but you do need to ensure you have your box and TV set up correctly and with appropriate connections otherwise a digi tv can look quite poor.

    4. #3
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      I have spent the last 4 hours trying every setting on the TV and it still looks terrible, was lovely and clear on the old CRT TV. Going to take it back and quote sale of good act, Digital TV/satellite might have more functions compared to analogue but its over complicated and the picture quality is not as good, their is a limit to what MPEG 2 can do. give me a knob you can twidle any day.

    5. #4
      Tezcatlipoca's Avatar
      Tezcatlipoca is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Cambridge (EACAM)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Cambridge
      Posts
      855
      Thanks
      13
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      HD material (Sky HD, HD DVDs, Xbox360 games) on my Samsung looks excellent...clearly better than SD.

      SD material on it is very good...built-in Freeview, Sky Digital normal SD digibox via RGB SCART [now out of use due to >> ], & SD channels upscaled over HDMI on a Sky HD box.

    6. #5
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      I just got of the phone to Currys and gues what, they display HD on ther TV's even though the bloke told me they were normal. waiting for manager to contact me.

    7. #6
      Chairplum's Avatar
      Chairplum is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01582
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Beds
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      If you are just using a normal aerial lead, your picture will be worse on HD set. Using Freeview/digital satellite it will be similar. Only using true HD input (eg Sky HD box/HD DVD/Blueray) will you achieve the results you're looking for.

    8. #7
      Keiran2K8's Avatar
      Keiran2K8 is offline Skyuser Serial Spammer
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Max & VM VIP-85 & Be* Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Redditch, WestMidlands, England, UK
      Posts
      3,763
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Blog Entries
      3

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      So you basicly got a TV thinking it was HD and it turned out to be SD?

      The first thing you should have done is tried connecting up your HD Device (To obviously have a HD Stream/Source to view and check quality) to the HDMI port, If it doesnt have that, Then it really isnt able to display HD imaging.

    9. #8
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      I think we have all been sold down the river on HD, the same way were were on digital TV. My options now are 1, return tv (waiting for manager to call) and get a 32" CRT, 2, spend 170 on HD box from Ebay and pay 10 per month extra and also get a DVD with upscaler in it 50

    10. #9
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      Quote Originally Posted by FibreOptic View Post
      So you basicly got a TV thinking it was HD and it turned out to be SD?

      The first thing you should have done is tried connecting up your HD Device (To obviously have a HD Stream/Source to view and check quality) to the HDMI port, If it doesnt have that, Then it really isnt able to display HD imaging.

      No I thought they were displaying SD on a HD tv. I only have SD output devices.

    11. #10
      Koala5's Avatar
      Koala5 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Dunstable
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      1,964
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 33 Times in 33 Posts

      Re: HD TV's are poo

      I brought a 32" Sony Bravia about a month ago and I must say I am very pleased with it. After reading all the bad reviews about LCD's on the AV forum I was dreading buying it but I didn't want a plasma. Sky and Freeview is easily on par with my old Sony CRT the only thing that doe's look really bad is analogue from the aerial. So all in all its a thumbs up!
      Last edited by Koala5; 08-06-07 at 04:34 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION