Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    New to sky

    This is a discussion on New to sky within the General chat forums, part of the Community channel category; Hello I am currently with Virgin Media. I am considering changing to Sky for their 26 per month TV, Broadband ...

    1. #1
      philip1066's Avatar
      philip1066 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New to sky

      Hello
      I am currently with Virgin Media. I am considering changing to Sky for their 26 per month TV, Broadband & phone package.

      Questions!!

      1. Am I likely to experience many set up problems with new internet connection?

      2. Is it possible to retain my current email address?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky

      Quote Originally Posted by philip1066 View Post
      1. Am I likely to experience many set up problems with new internet connection?
      There is a possibility of things going pear shaped, but a greater chance of going right first time. If you have you existing broadband delivered through the VM box, then you should have no problems on the connection side, unless VM do the phone rental for you?

      2. Is it possible to retain my current email address?
      Is this a VM one? If so you will have to check that they let you keep them. Sky give you up to 10 email addresses and if I were you just send an email to all your contacts with the new one. The other alternative is to get your own domain registered and have a non ISP reliant email address. Costs about 10 a year

      Welcome to the site btw
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      philip1066's Avatar
      philip1066 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky

      Excuse my ignorance. What is a "VM box"?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky

      VM - Virgin Media box, as in router, or TV thingy that sends the broadband, rather than down the telephone line.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      philip1066's Avatar
      philip1066 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky

      Thanks Newsreader
      At present I have TV, Broadband & telephone via Virgin cable (previously Telewest).

      I will need to get a BT line installed for Broadband & telephone + a dish for TV.

    7. #6
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky

      If you are going for the new line from BT, you are probably in a great position for having no problems as in waiting for tags to be removed from the line etc.

      Good luck and enjoy it
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    8. #7
      philip1066's Avatar
      philip1066 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky

      Thanks for advice. One more question, does Sky installation engineer make connection to computer & check operation?

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky

      If you are getting the free installation for the Broadband then I am sure that the engineer will do everything for you.

      Even if he doesn't don't worry its a doddle and there is plenty of people on here to help you out.

      Has your existing PC got a network / ethernet card?

      Normally you would connect the router to the phoneline and then with the other cable connect it to the PC via the network / ethernet card, and away it goes.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      philip1066's Avatar
      philip1066 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New to sky

      Yes, My current Virgin Broadband connects via ethernet card.

    11. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: New to sky

      Should be good to go then
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION