Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

    This is a discussion on Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29 within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi all, First post here and I hoping you can help. I used to be a Sky customer up until ...

    1. #1
      nstofberg's Avatar
      nstofberg is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      Hi all,

      First post here and I hoping you can help.

      I used to be a Sky customer up until 2 years ago (just normal Sky with the older rounded box).
      After that I had Freesat from Sky by doing nothing. Anyways, I then got a Freeview box to get the 'best of both worlds'.

      Pretty much then never used the Freesat so unplugged it. A couple months ago we had some bad weather and the Freeview was struggling so I decided to see if I could get some channels at least through Freesat. Thats when I first got the 'No Satellite signal is being received - Error 29'
      Didn't think anything of it given the weather and went back to Freeview.

      Now yesterday, I reprogrammed / scanned my Freeview box for the digital switch over but now I can't get quite a few channels for some reason (but thats for another forum). So again I decide to try my Sky box for Freesat.

      But I still get the same message. All the connections seem fine. I've tried forcing a software download as its been off for sometime, I've gone into the Installer menu and reset the settings and obviously called Sky who only want to send someone out for 65 - no real offer of help.

      When I go into the settings the signal and strength show nothing. But after playing with the settings, and going straight to 103 (ITV1), it worked and I can see the TV guide and some channels so at least I get past that initial screen with the error 29 message.

      But... I do get the following channels, so not sure why I don't get all of them that I should get with Freesat.
      103 ITV1
      118 ITV2
      119 ITV3
      120 ITV4
      135 CH4+1
      136 E4
      137 E4+1
      138 MORE 4
      149 CBS DRAMA
      168 BBC ALBA
      180 ITV3+1
      190 MEN&MOVIES
      195 PROPELLER
      321 TRUE MOVIES 1
      322 TRUE MOVIES 2
      323 MOVIES4MEN
      324 MOV4MEN+1
      325 MOVIES4MEN2
      326 MOVIES4MEN2 +1

      This is where I stopped.
      Anybody got any ideas on what I should do to get the channels that are missing like BBC, Channel 4, etc?

      Many thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      Hopefully someone will give you some help shortly.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      Is it possible that since the LNB hasn't been used that it has got damp inside or some other weather damage?

      Do check the Coax too, to ensure that water hasn't got into it. Check for any damage to the outer insulation or any sharp bends too.

      Also I would be inclined to check the alignment of the dish. It is possible that some bad weather could have disturbed it.

      Looking around error 29 is to do with the signal strength.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #4
      hoolers's Avatar
      hoolers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      I am getting the same problem. I am a canceled sky plus user and everything was fine for a couple of weeks, then overnight i started having this issue. I have the same channel problems, but i can for example view BBC One HD, but not BBC One!

      I dont see any error codes, just simply states no satalite signal being received. There is a numerical code on the right, that is 25.

    6. #5
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      OP - You're only getting Vertical polarised low frequency transponders.

      Firstly, check LNB power and tone are enabled (in the installer menu).

      If it is, try a different box. If that doesn't work then replace the LNB. Could always be the coax is full of water of course.....

    7. #6
      hoolers's Avatar
      hoolers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      bump.....

    8. #7
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      Quote Originally Posted by hoolers View Post
      I am getting the same problem. I am a canceled sky plus user and everything was fine for a couple of weeks, then overnight i started having this issue. I have the same channel problems, but i can for example view BBC One HD, but not BBC One!

      I dont see any error codes, just simply states no satalite signal being received. There is a numerical code on the right, that is 25.
      BBC One HD is a low frequency Vertically polarised transponder so it doesn't fit the pattern. BBC One SD is regional and the transponder you receive from is fixed in the EPG by Sky who work it out based on your location. So I'd need to know which Region you receive to see if it's Horizontally polarised (it will be one of the very low frequency transponders). Essentially which BBC Local News bulletin do you receive?

      In any case it looks as if you have some form of equipment problem unrelated to Sky. First of all check all the 'F' connections on the back of the Sky box and if possible check them at the LNB. If you can try attaching your Sky box to a friends Sky dish to see if it works OK, if it does then the problem is with the dish/LNB/coax cable. If it doesn't work at another location (where other Sky equipment does) then you have a faulty Sky box.

      Hope this helps.

    9. #8
      hoolers's Avatar
      hoolers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      Hi mate, thats cool i'll have a crack at that, one question though sorry what does LNB mean? oh and btw my news is BBC London.

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      LNB = Low-noise block downconverter - Low-noise block downconverter - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

      This is a picture of an LNB:


      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #10
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Old Sky customer but Freesat not working - Error 29

      Quote Originally Posted by hoolers View Post
      Hi mate, thats cool i'll have a crack at that, one question though sorry what does LNB mean? oh and btw my news is BBC London.
      BBC1 London is Horizontal Polarisation. So you have a mix of V and H problems. The same transponder that carries BBC1 London also carries BBC2 and BBC3 as well as CBBC - so you shouldn't be able to receive them either.

      Can you try your Sky box on another working system?

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION