Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    Freesat in bedroom

    This is a discussion on Freesat in bedroom within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi I have a sky plus box in my lounge and would like to use a freesat box in the ...

    1. #1
      lesleyfouche's Avatar
      lesleyfouche is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0173r
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Freesat in bedroom

      Hi
      I have a sky plus box in my lounge and would like to use a freesat box in the bedroom to watch different channels.

      I have already bought a Quad LNB for the sky aerial dish and now need to buy the cable and connectors.

      Do we have to use a twin cable, or will normal single co-axle cable work?

      What is the purpose of the twin cable?

      (We have already run a split on the sky box to view sky in the bedroom)

      Many thanks

      Lesley


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Freesat in bedroom

      Single core cable is quite OK. Twin core is used as it takes up less space, so is tidier and when changing from a single connection to a double one does not usually need another hole drilled in the wall.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Freesat in bedroom

      Don't forget that an old Sky box will act as a Freesat box so if you have one then you wouldn't need to buy a Freesat STB. The old Sky box will work without any card or if you have an old Sky 'white' card' as in current use you may be able to receive a few channels not available to Freesat (strctly speaking these are FTV - free to view - channels that are encrypted but free to watch.

    5. #4
      lesleyfouche's Avatar
      lesleyfouche is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0173r
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat in bedroom

      Thank you for your help. Much appreciated.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Freesat in bedroom

      I don't think there are many here who would buy an item from Ebay Spain. As you are posting from Malaga, you wouldn't be selling it would you?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION