Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
    Results 21 to 25 of 25

    I want to downgrade to freesat ?

    This is a discussion on I want to downgrade to freesat ? within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Originally Posted by Alpine Hi again. Do all remote controls work with all the sky boxes ? The remote controls ...

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
      Hi again. Do all remote controls work with all the sky boxes ?
      The remote controls for a newer STB can be programmed to control the older STBs, but not the other way around.

      i.e. The remote for the Sky+ HD STB can be configured to work with a Sky+ or Sky STB. The remote for the Sky+ STB will not work correctly with the Sky+ HD STB, but can be configured to work with the Sky STB.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      The short answer is no, it depends on how old the remote is. Have a look at this thread in the AV forums.
      Sky remotes - reprogram standard to operate Sky+ or HD and vice versa | AVForums.com - UK Online

      I must say I was unable to program a standard remote to work with an HD box when my remote went toes up. Luckily I was able to borrow a Sky+ remote which did work.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #23
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Hi I am unsure what STB is. Is it a standard remote control for a standard non sky plus box. I have a unlabelled make of sky + box presently. The pace 330 is the one I wanted to buy off ebay with the non-subscription override part put in to this box so it records like an normal sky + box. I presume this is a newer remote than a Pace 330 although I cannot be sure. What I can say is inside the cover it says Sky rev.8 in exactly those words and numbers. Perhaps this is a version 8 and could be programmed with the pace 330 box as a remote control for it. I read your links and tried to understand the best I can. Sorry if I have not got it yet !

      Sorry for my late reply perhaps going back to page 2 at the bottom in this thread would help since I asked the question about sky remotes there.

      Thanks.

    5. #24
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      STB = Set Top Box, a bit of a misnomer as no one nowadays would think of placing it on top of the TV set.

      The Rev 8 remote will work with any Sky+ or HD box.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #25
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Oh great news thanks.

      I was trying to ask this question on 'general computing and the internet' from the main topic forum page. No luck so far so I think I have posted it in the wrong one. This is what I am trying to figure now-

      Hi as some of you know from other threads I was thinking of leaving sky and using eurosport player to watch tennis on line instead. It appears I have a problem. Eurosport player does not offer commentary on the tennis matches unless you watch it live. You can watch it as a recorded version they offer but no commentory.

      Is there some software that would work with eurosport that I could test that would record the live stream. I asked another forum which dealt with recording and streaming but they are not answering. Might be I am saying something confusing.

      These things often hinge on whether you stay with sky or not.

      Thanks for all your help ! I will no doubt have solved it all soon.

     

     
    Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION