Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 25

    I want to downgrade to freesat ?

    This is a discussion on I want to downgrade to freesat ? within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Thanks very much ! I just looked on ebay. I found this. He has good feedback from customers who bought ...

    1. #11
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Thanks very much ! I just looked on ebay. I found this. He has good feedback from customers who bought boxes with a months warranty. Its a sky + box made to work with freesat and not paying the sky subscription.

      PACE SKY PLUS FREESAT PVR - RECORD WITH NO SUBSCRIPTION | eBay

      Any Good ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      This is not an item which I have seen or heard of previously.

      I would guess that he has done something to the STB or hacked the viewing card. The write-up states that he has modified the firmware.

      If you were to purchase this STB, it is possible that it would be unable to be reused on a proper Sky subscription in the future, but I seriously don't know.

      If he is fitting new hard drives, then this would be useful as it will prolong the potential life span of the STB.

      It is also perhaps worth mentioning that this STB is SD only. You would not be able to view any HD channels which are becoming more popular.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Alpine (16-11-11)

    5. #13
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Hi thanks thats very helpful. I have a sky + box now at the moment. Could this be used instead if I went back to shy subscribing again. ?

    6. #14
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Alpine View Post
      Hi thanks thats very helpful. I have a sky + box now at the moment. Could this be used instead if I went back to shy subscribing again. ?
      You could do, but if you left Sky for more than 12 months, you could qualify for a new Sky+ HD STB instead.

      In both cases you would be able to continue using the modified Sky+ STB or a proper Freesat STB. You would just need to ensure that you have enough feeds to the right room.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Alpine (16-11-11)

    8. #15
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Its okay as long as I can re-subscribe before or after the 12 month period without to many problems.

      This is an important question for me. I wanted to watch SKY one (different name now) as it had some programs I really liked. Its probably not possible to buy a channel for a month most likely if I am not fully subscribing to them. This is why I asked about it on the TV streaming other topic.

      Thanks.
      Last edited by Alpine; 10-11-11 at 10:37 PM.

    9. #16
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Could this be used instead if I went back to shy subscribing again.
      You would not be able to use it with the 'open' firmware it has at the moment. It would have to have the Sky firmware put back on to it. Whether this would just be a matter of doing a full system reset, I don't know. If that worked it would not really be worth it as part of the value of the box is in the 'open' firmware. Boxes with standard firmware are selling for 25-30, a lot less than this box, you would be better reselling it.

      As Scubbie says, you are better registering as a new customer with all the perks it brings

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Alpine (16-11-11)

    11. #17
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Question Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Thanks. Also I was wondering if I did not have sky + but did have a downgraded sky card to freesat, if I could subscribe to one channel for 2 say, for 1 month. So if there was something on sky one I could still have access.

      If not its no big deal. It seems that live streaming TV also will not give you a sky channel.

      Does freesat give sky 3 , and is this NOW a mix of the atlantic, living and sky 1 when they are filtered down and become old ? Quite an important question.

      Thanks for the help !

    12. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,235
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,235 Times in 2,100 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      No one gets Sky 3 any more.

      Sadly it got killed off after being shuffled down to the bottom of the channel listing.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    13. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Alpine (16-11-11)

    14. #19
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      if I could subscribe to one channel for 2 say, for 1 month. So if there was something on sky one I could still have access.
      The minimum Sky subscription is 20. I don't think you can subscribe for less than 12 months.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    15. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Alpine (16-11-11)

    16. #20
      Alpine's Avatar
      Alpine is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      55
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I want to downgrade to freesat ?

      Hi again. Do all remote controls work with all the sky boxes ?

      Thanks! and thanks for before !

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION