Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

    This is a discussion on sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, I was thinking of dropping my sky subscription and investing in a humax freesat hd+ box. I like the ...

    1. #1
      david_now's Avatar
      david_now is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191 567
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      Hi,
      I was thinking of dropping my sky subscription and investing in a humax freesat hd+ box.

      I like the idea of accessing BBC Iplayer as well as cutting down costs.

      My concern is over accessing sky news channel, which I watch a lot.

      I've read it is available but not through the Freesat EPG.

      Is it possible to view sky news ?

      and is it convenient to switch between sky news and EPG channels ?

      I've never used Freesat so would appreciate comments from those with experience.

      Not just interested to know if it is possible, but is it practical ?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      From what I've read elsewhere, this is actually a nice satellite STB. It does many things that Sky should have brought in ages ago, but as far as technology is concerned, they seem to be about 4 years behind everyone else.

      If you have a couple of spare LNB ports, you could actually connect it up now and have both STBs running concurrently.

      I have also read that if you insert an expired Sky Viewing Card, you can view a few FTV channels into the bargain. I wonder if this is how you can view Sky News.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      david_now's Avatar
      david_now is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191 567
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      Well, I've currently got a sky+ box (old model) with a valid viewing card and a dual LNB.

      I didn't know Freesat boxes had card slots , I could certainly put my old card in if it allowed me to pick up sky news.

      I guess another option might be to put one LNB feed to the sky box and one to a humax box, and view sky news from the sky+ box on freesat from sky.

      Forgive my ignorance, but with only one feed to the humax freesat hd+ would I still be able to record , assuming i wasn't trying to record while watching another channel ?

      Or do yo need 2 feeds to do any recording ?

      sorry if this is a dumb question.

      Changing the LNB is not so easy , I live on top floor of 4 storey block of flats. I'd need to get a friendly fitter in. :-)

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      Basically you need the same number of LNB leads as your receiver(s) have LNB inputs. So as the Sky+ box and the Freesat box have 2 each you'd need 4 for full operation of all functions of all machines. However if you only plan to use the Sky+ box as a receiver you would only need one lead for that.

      I'm fairly sure you can 'Add' Sky News to the Freesat box but not in HD. For that you'd need a valid Sky HD subscription through a Sky box. It might be possible to use a CAM in the PCMCIA slot in the Freesat box (along with a Sky Viewing Card) but it's all 'if's and but's' and not cheap as well as been against Sky's T&C's. http://php.rozzamozza.com/drupal/?q=node/view/52 . It may also not work with the newer white viewing cards.

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by david_now View Post
      Well, I've currently got a sky+ box (old model) with a valid viewing card and a dual LNB.

      I didn't know Freesat boxes had card slots , I could certainly put my old card in if it allowed me to pick up sky news.
      I did read about this in an on-line copy of the User Manual for the STB. I'm having little luck this morning in finding it, so please do feel free to look around like I did.

      The card is used purely to confirm that the box is owned by someone in the UK (worthy of a laugh) and to allow access to the FTV, not just FTA, content.

      From memory it unlocked some channels like ITV2 HD, but please check before purchasing.

      This is one site, there are others:

      Humax Foxsat HDR 209.00 | Freesat PVR | Satellite receivers | Digital TV Receivers

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    7. #6
      david_now's Avatar
      david_now is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0191 567
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      14
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      thanks for the general feedback, but could I go back to original question.

      Has anyone used one of these humax devices, and if so was it possible / convenient to access sky news

      thanks

    8. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      I don't know about Freesat, but Sky News is available on Freeview (82) only in SD though, I have not been able to find the HD version.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #8
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      I said this in post #4

      "I'm fairly sure you can 'Add' Sky News to the Freesat box but not in HD. For that you'd need a valid Sky HD subscription through a Sky box."

    10. #9
      stjimmy1980's Avatar
      stjimmy1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Herne Bay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagemcom 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Posts
      112
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      i have a humax hd freesat box, that i dont use anymore
      within the menus is 'non freesat' mode that picks up all the channels that are not on the freesat epg.
      sky news and other channels can be found on this menu.
      its simple to do just a click of a button!
      freesat boxes do not have card slots or cams, although there has been speculation about this for the future.
      the bbc i player is great on humax, i find it more stable than the ps3 and online iplayer.
      regards jimmy

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,234
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,233 Times in 2,099 Posts

      Re: sky news on freesat - humax freesat hd+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by stjimmy1980 View Post
      freesat boxes do not have card slots or cams, although there has been speculation about this for the future.
      Sorry, I had to look this up again.

      Humax Foxsat HDR 209.00 | Freesat PVR | Satellite receivers | Digital TV Receivers

      Can I receive SKY's free to Air Channels (FTA) with the Humax Foxsat HDR?

      Yes; your sky card can be used in the Humax Foxsat HDR CI Module slot. This can be bought separately. This will give you give you Channel 4, Five, Five Life, Five US and Sky 3.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION