Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    freeview through sky box

    This is a discussion on freeview through sky box within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi, been a little while since ive been here. i really need to write my usernames down anyways my little ...

    1. #1
      irradiated's Avatar
      irradiated is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: workington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      freeview through sky box

      Hi, been a little while since ive been here. i really need to write my usernames down

      anyways my little problem is this
      i have a sky box in the bedroom on freeview ( used to be a multiroom but cancelled due to never being used ) im talking about over 12 months since the last time but the other day i decided to watch channel 5.
      boom you must contact sky blah blah blah. now i have the old blue card with a yellow house on it which is different to my sky+ card
      i contacted sky only to be told it will be 25 for a new card
      Now im not tight (really) but the thought of paying for something i already have (albeit out of date) seems wrong considering the name includes the word FREE
      several emails later i received a phone call from a Scottish lady trying to explain why but all the time i kept hinging on the word FREE, after-all 25 is a LOT for a little plastic card, hell banks will give you a little plastic card for free
      ive no issues buying/paying for something new but if i already have one then im struggling to understand why I have to pay to upgrade when they/freeview/sat whatever made a change to the system
      i did try to explain that if i have to go the new aerial freeview way for this tv i might go the whole hog and ditch sky but they dont seem interested at all.
      considering this will happen again, usually 3 years or so but really whenever they feel like it, then it'll be 25 everytime THEY decide to do this for something which is called FREE
      im getting a new aerial for the childrens tv's so this could be the new way forward, i have full freeview coverage anyways, i just find their attitude incredible.
      surely a card holder should be able to swap old for new, i'll even pay the postage but deffo not 25, not for a piece of plastic that they changed

      sorry for this rant, i guess this is what happens when you dont watch much tv in the bedroom
      anyways rant over and nice to see the site is still as good source of information
      Connection Speed 7302 kbps 963 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 7 db



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      Actually the free service on satellite is called FreeSat. Sky charge an admin fee for the cards. If you don't want to pay this, you can get FreeSat boxes that don't need cards from several different manufacturers.

    4. #3
      steelysteph's Avatar
      steelysteph is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Lancaster
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM Hub 3
      Sky TV: 2TB Minnie Mous
      Join Date
      Oct 2009
      Posts
      400
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 24 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      Freesat from Sky gives around 100 channels more than normal Freesat.

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      Also, it's not just a peice pf plastic, if it was then the other one would still work. Why should Sky supply this too you free of charge, it costs them money to make/buy them.

      Nothing in life is free and this is especially true when dealing with a profit making company.

    6. #5
      irradiated's Avatar
      irradiated is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: workington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      Quote Originally Posted by Smithy99 View Post

      Nothing in life is free and this is especially true when dealing with a profit making company.
      yes this is true but, when you have one that worked and then sky or whoever changes something to make this redundant then why should you have to buy again and again?
      Connection Speed 7302 kbps 963 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 7 db


    7. #6
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      Because they own the company, and they make the rules. You're not obliged to buy from them.

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      They didn't force you to use their service, you chose too, the direct cost for this is around 25 per card every 3-5 years, you do have other options if you don't like this, you could use freeview which now also has some HD on it.

    9. #8
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      If you had a subscription for the card, it would have been replaced free of charge. Your best bet would be to sell your box and buy a Freesat one which does not have restrictions.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #9
      irradiated's Avatar
      irradiated is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: workington
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Posts
      59
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      but there is no subscription, its free?
      this is a sky box i bought when digital first came out and its been using freeview for about 3 years. surely its a breach of the trade description if you call it free then charge 25 whenever you feel like it
      the tv has freeview built in so ill be using that and throw this old box in the bin its just the cheek of it all imho
      like fonejacker says, can i interest you in free tv, its free apart from a one off payment of 25 and it comes with free ring dings
      Last edited by irradiated; 23-01-11 at 11:57 PM. Reason: speeling :P
      Connection Speed 7302 kbps 963 kbps
      Line Attenuation 47 db 27 db
      Noise Margin 6 db 7 db


    11. #10
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: freeview through sky box

      I suppose you'll be telling us that 'free love' is free too ? LOL !

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION