Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 5 of 5

    FreeSat, will this cable work?

    This is a discussion on FreeSat, will this cable work? within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I asked the electrican working on my house to bury it, not touch the actually dish but just lay it ...

    1. #1
      highjuice's Avatar
      highjuice is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Aug 2010
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      FreeSat, will this cable work?

      I asked the electrican working on my house to bury it, not touch the actually dish but just lay it while he worked on two rooms.

      U-JIN / TFC - T10 023 T600 - EEB

      That's whats on the cable. I've googled around and can't find an answer.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: FreeSat, will this cable work?

      Peel back some of the outer coating at the end and see if it has any metal shield around it and the inner core.

      Better yet, take a picture and post it showing the end cut back so we can see all the cores.

    4. #3
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: FreeSat, will this cable work?

      I think this could be the type of cable used by Virgin to connect into the premises. If it is it should be OK provided it is not the external type, which has a gell water block lining. This is banned for extensive inside use due to the gell which is flammable and gives of toxic fumes when burned.

      If I were you I would get some digital TV cable, it does not cost that much.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    5. #4
      MartinP's Avatar
      MartinP is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Slingbox
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      A small Greek isand
      Posts
      475
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 19 Times in 19 Posts

      Re: FreeSat, will this cable work?

      There's actually no such thing as "digital cable". What you need is "double-screened" 75 Ohm coaxial cable. Preferably the type using copper braid on copper foil, such as WF100 or TX100.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: FreeSat, will this cable work?

      Having a quiet time on the Greek Island are you, digging up 9 month old posts. Lucky bee

      I think if you went into Maplins and asked for "double-screened" 75 Ohm coaxial cable" you would get a blank look. Whereas if you ask for digital TV cable you would get what you wanted
      SatelliteDigital TV Cable : TV, Satellite Coax Cable : Maplin

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION