Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

    This is a discussion on Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hi All I'am doing a refurb on a 1930's house, looking to get Sky HD installed in the living room ...

    1. #1
      BionicMan's Avatar
      BionicMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAFEL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      Hi All

      I'am doing a refurb on a 1930's house, looking to get Sky HD installed in the living room and then use the extra inputs with 2 Freesat Tv's.

      Would it be ok using a 40cm or for the little exta cash get a 60cm installed

      Also if I did install a 60cm would I get a better signal then if I installed a 40cm

      Thanks guys for your time in a reply





      *** We Can Rebuild Him ***


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      A bigger dish will give you a better signal margin in poor weather (heavy rain for example) however in East Anglia a standard Sky dish should be OK. It's important to get the dish alignment to give the maximum signal. As the signal for Freesat and Sky are from the same satellites then you should see no difference, the single exception is the Freesat EPG which is from Eurobird 28.5 rather than Astra 28.2 for Sky.

    4. #3
      BionicMan's Avatar
      BionicMan is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EAFEL
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      May 2008
      Location
      East Anglia
      Posts
      49
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      Quote Originally Posted by dms05 View Post
      A bigger dish will give you a better signal margin in poor weather (heavy rain for example) however in East Anglia a standard Sky dish should be OK. It's important to get the dish alignment to give the maximum signal. As the signal for Freesat and Sky are from the same satellites then you should see no difference, the single exception is the Freesat EPG which is from Eurobird 28.5 rather than Astra 28.2 for Sky.
      Thanks for the above reply, so a 60cm will give a better signal.
      Also what's the best LNB's on the market ? or are they all the same inturns of quilty.





      *** We Can Rebuild Him ***

    5. #4
      dms05's Avatar
      dms05 is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: 0151
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Dec 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      1,694
      Thanks
      12
      Thanked 52 Times in 50 Posts

      Re: Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      If you use a Sky dish then the LNB will have a special holder to fit the dish. Have a look on ebay for sky dish and LNB, they aren't expensive and often include a quad output LNB SkyHD/Sky+/BBC/ITV Digital Satellite Dish and QUAD LNB on eBay (end time 26-Oct-09 11:58:30 GMT) whilst this is only a Zone 1 dish it may well be more than good enough for you.

    6. #5
      Old_nick's Avatar
      Old_nick is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Be Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      1,241
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      A bigger dish would give you a better margin in bad weather (as previously stated), but the bigger the dish, the more critical the alignment. It's rather like looking at an aeroplane in the sky with binoculars - the more powerful the binoculars, the harder it is to keep the aeroplane in the field of view.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      I doubt very much you would need to go any bigger then a zone 2 dish, this will give a better signal than the standard zone 1 but even then, if the zone 1 is correctly aligned then even the zone 2 is not needed.

      Remember also, the bigger the dish the easier it is for the wind or in my case the window cleaner to move it

    8. #7
      Brian69's Avatar
      Brian69 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kings Lynn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      2,971
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 6 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Worth using a 60cm dish for Sky & Freesat

      I agree. Here in Norfolk my zone 2 dish is just fine, with no drop outs in even the worst rain.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION