Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9

    I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

    This is a discussion on I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat? within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Heres my situation, I use to have the full Sky package. However the subscription ended a few years ago after ...

    1. #1
      Micah777's Avatar
      Micah777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      Heres my situation,

      I use to have the full Sky package. However the subscription ended a few years ago after I got it all in back in 1996. Took out the box and have since lost the box. However, my girlfriend has moved house and got Virgin and has given me her Skybox with the card in it as mine has gone. Her Skybox still has the card in it. She was watching freesat before she gave me the skybox?

      So I connected my Sky Box up to the TV using a scart and plugged the ariel from the satalite into the back of my Sky Box and it searches for a few seconds and after a few seconds it says no satalite signal is found?

      Does anyone know what the problem is here?

      WOuld most apprecite any help?!

      Thanks

      Micah!
      Last edited by Micah777; 17-07-09 at 02:51 AM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      How big is the dish?

      Is it the old big one or the newer smaller one?

      Its possible that the LNB has been moved through wind etc - It maybe worth asking a local sat installer to have a look (although this would be chargeable) Unless of course you are prepared to have a go.

      As for the freesat side of things, you would need a card, normally the card that expires would revert to the freesat version, however, as this is not yours, and Sky have rolled out a new type of card, you may need another (normally cost about 20)
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      Micah777's Avatar
      Micah777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      Thanks for your reply.

      Well I just went to have a look at it on the side of the house and its 40 centimeters by 40 centimerters and Im pretty sure its this one...
      https://clarahost.clara.net/www.mult...ish_Zone_1.jpg

      So you think I may need to get a new card too? even though it worked fine for my girlfriend?

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      So you think I may need to get a new card too? even though it worked fine for my girlfriend?
      It all depends if it is the new one. Sky are updating all the cards at the moment, for the newer ones and so it maybe a case of ringing Sky and asking them about that.

      As for the dish, it should look like this:



      Satellite Mini Dish & Quad LNB for SKY FREESAT Zone 1 on eBay (end time 01-Aug-09 12:54:20 BST) Although that image has a 4 way LNB and so that bit would be slightly different.

      43cm Raven Minidish for Sky or Freesat

      http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/Sky-BBC-ITV-43...3A1%7C294%3A50
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,738
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      The dish will be pointing at the wrong satellite if it's that old, you need to get it re-aligned, better still get a new one put up.

    7. #6
      taharris's Avatar
      taharris is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0207258
      Broadband ISP: none
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      When did the satellite move (!) or presumably Sky started using another one? Our dish has been there since 2000 and seems to work.

    8. #7
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      Sky originally launched as an analogue service using Astra 1 at 19degrees east. For digital they moved to the Astra2 position at 28.2E.
      There is no p in Thomson.

    9. #8
      Micah777's Avatar
      Micah777 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jul 2009
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      So is there a part I could just have added to my satelite rather than buying a new satelite?

      1) If theres a part I just need to buy to add to my satelite how much would that cost and how much would it cost to get someone out to fix it?

      b) Where would I buy this new part for my satelite from?

      2) If I need a new satelite altogether how much is one of them?

      b) How much would it be to get someone out to instal the new satelite?

    10. #9
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: I have a Sky Dish from 1996?! Can I get freesat?

      A new satellite will cost millions. A new dish however.......
      The fact you are asking questions suggests to me you should get a local installer to do the job. It is possible to re-pan the dish to pick up the required satellite but as the dish is 13 or so years old the nuts are likely corroded and if you don't know what you are doing it can be a pain.
      There is no p in Thomson.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION