Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

    This is a discussion on Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish? within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I have a 4 mix sub with sky+. Is it possible to run a non-Sky Freesat HD box off the ...

    1. #1
      solfer's Avatar
      solfer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      I have a 4 mix sub with sky+. Is it possible to run a non-Sky Freesat HD box off the same dish, alongside the Sky+ box?

      Both would be connected up to the same TV..

      If so, what would be the best way to do this?

      TIA


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Woodster's Avatar
      Woodster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01442
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      Herts
      Posts
      585
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 21 Times in 21 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      Yes. Run a cable from your dish to the freesat box dish input and then plug the box into your tv via an HDMI cable. If your tv is not HD, plug the scart from the tv socket on your freesat box into the vcr socket on your sky box.

    4. #3
      monkey123's Avatar
      monkey123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gosport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      I'm thinking of doing this to, I've only got one feed off my dish (normal sky), rather than get a dual lnb (?) could I get a signel splitter and run 2 receivers of one signal?

      TIA

    5. #4
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      No, you must use a multipoint LNB.

      You can get quad LNB's off e-bay with cable and connectors from 15 upwards.

    6. #5
      monkey123's Avatar
      monkey123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gosport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      Thanks for quick reply - is there a technical reason you cant can't do this? I've seen satellite signal splitters being sold.

    7. #6
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      Yes, LNB's use two polarities Horizontal and Vertical with channels mixed between these.

      You cannot have one receiver tune in one whislt the other needs the opposite one.

      You must fit a multipoint LNB to have them work correctly at the same time.

    8. #7
      monkey123's Avatar
      monkey123 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gosport
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      23
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      Thanks for the info

    9. #8
      robbiem0's Avatar
      robbiem0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cressington, liverpool
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      Can I just ask a question on the back on this thread! I am looking to also do as monkey123 is, however I want to use Freesat feed in my bedroom and use an old sky digital box with a freesat from syk viewing card.

      Would there be any issues using the 4 port LNB with both the Sky+ connection (in my living room) and the freesat from sky in my bedroom uing an old Panasonic Sky digital box?

      Any help would be great!

      Cheers.
      Robbie.
      Last edited by robbiem0; 11-01-09 at 04:04 PM.

    10. #9
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      No problem, just run in the cable and connect it, you can have upto 4 standard Sky receivers connected or a mix of Sky+ etc.

      You can also get octo LNB's with 8 points.

    11. #10
      robbiem0's Avatar
      robbiem0 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cressington, liverpool
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky+ sub and Freesat from same dish?

      Fantastic - thanks for the quick reply Smithy99.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION