Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    sky plus on freesat

    This is a discussion on sky plus on freesat within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; im gonna downgrade to freesat on sky i have 2 sky plus boxes and im willing to pay the extra ...

    1. #1
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      sky plus on freesat

      im gonna downgrade to freesat on sky i have 2 sky plus boxes and im willing to pay the extra 10 for the + features but will i have to pay 10 for each sky plus box and 10 multi room too anyone know?
      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T



    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      I thought you could only use Sky+ if you had a contract
      - min 17 a month.
      (Or does this not apply if you downgrade.)
      If a contract is not required I would also be interested to know.
      Because my sister has Freesat from Sky and would
      love to buy Sky+ if there was no contract.
      She is currently waiting for a similar box
      to use with the BBC/ITV Freesat and will then switch.
      Last edited by murdock; 05-11-08 at 03:24 PM. Reason: typo/ clarification

    4. #3
      TheWhizzz's Avatar
      TheWhizzz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Gravesend
      Broadband ISP: 02
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Gravesend
      Posts
      606
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      Quote Originally Posted by murdock View Post
      I thought you could only use Sky+ if you had a contract
      - min 17 a month.
      (Or does this not apply if you downgrade.)
      If a contract is not required I would also be interested to know.
      Because my sister has Freesat from Sky and would
      love to buy Sky+ if there was no contract.
      She is currently waiting for a similar box
      to use with the BBC/ITV Freesat and will then switch.

      no you can pay 10 a month for the sky + features on freesat but i have 2 boxes and don't know if i have to pay 10 for each box and 10 for multiroom even tho its only freesat
      Please take a moment and upgrade your bit torrent client to the latest version.
      Help traffic shaped users by enabling protocol encryption in Az or T


    5. #4
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      I would imagine that you have to pay the 10 sky plus sub per box, but the multiroom subscription is to copy your sky package over. On freesat you wont have a package therefore this can't apply. You will I think need two viewing cards @20 each. I've not tried this so it is a guess. I would suggest that a call to Sky may be the answer. A bit of pushing might get the subscription price down for a while.

    6. #5
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      Your existing cancelled cards will work for Freesat. You will not pay anything for multiroom since you'll no longer have a Sky subscription. But you will have to pay 10 per box per month for Sky+ functionality (and make sure you insist on this when you cancel).

      If you cancel by phone, they'll make you an offer you can't refuse, like cheap movies over Christmas. If you accept this, you'll have to go through the cancellation routine all over again next year.

      To avoid hassle, do it by letter.
      See http://sam-radford.me.uk/how_to_complain.htm
      Last edited by Sam Radford; 01-12-08 at 01:30 PM.

    7. #6
      Steelercaz's Avatar
      Steelercaz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0114
      Broadband ISP: Sky+
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      Hi there

      This applies to me also, and I still have a question. I recently moved back in with my parents temporarily, and they have Sky+ downstairs, whilst upstairs I just have my terrestrial tv, on which I receive 4 channels, very badly. I also have a Freeview PVR box, but again the reception is terrible, so I've pretty much given up on the aerial.

      A few years ago we had Sky+ Multiroom put up there, but we had to cancel at the end of the first years contract as there is no phone line up there, which is a condition of your contract for Multiroom/Sky+.

      I still have the Sky+ box, and a quad Sky minidish, although the cable has been severed off from this - so I am planning to attach a new cable to the dish, run it back into my room, and order a Freesat card from Sky to allow me to use the Sky+ box. I understand that with Freesat I won't be able to use all the features on the old Sky+, such as play and record, etc, but I see here that (I think!) Sam is saying if I contact Sky and pay an extra 10 per month on my parents contract I can use the Sky+ features up there, even without a Multiroom contract - have I understood this correctly? Also, if this is the case, will I need to be plugged into a phoneline 24/7, and so can't take that option anyway??

      Finally (last question I promise!), if I cannot use the Sky+ features, which ones are blocked off? i.e., will I not be able to use the EPG at all, or is it just playback & recording which are inactive? Will I be able to use the Favourites feature?

      Thanks all in advance!
      Caroline

      Many thanks in advance for your help,
      Caroline

    8. #7
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      Why don't you just get a phone point in there and pay the 10 multiroom, that way you will get everything your parents do and the Sky+ functions.

    9. #8
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      If you order multiroom from Sky, they will install a phone extension wire, taken from the easiest point into the room. What I did, was purchase a wall box, they ran the wire in, I connected up the box and it all worked fine. That way Sky will also reinstall the wiring for you.

    10. #9
      Ned Ludd's Avatar
      Ned Ludd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Haxby
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet
      Router: TP-Link WR2543ND
      Sky TV: FreeSat
      Join Date
      Sep 2008
      Location
      York
      Posts
      703
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      Just a reminder that Multiroom is 10 only if you have a premium package, otherwise it is 5!
      Geoff, York.
      Can't call me a Luddite now!


    11. #10
      pjc666's Avatar
      pjc666 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Mid
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: sky plus on freesat

      can i just confirm that you do not have to pay 20 quid for one of their cards and can use your own cancelled subscription card? assume you dont need to tell them anything when you are cancelling the subscription and it will still work on free sat?

      thanks

      pete



      Quote Originally Posted by Sam Radford View Post
      Your existing cancelled cards will work for Freesat. You will not pay anything for multiroom since you'll no longer have a Sky subscription. But you will have to pay 10 per box per month for Sky+ functionality (and make sure you insist on this when you cancel).

      If you cancel by phone, they'll make you an offer you can't refuse, like cheap movies over Christmas. If you accept this, you'll have to go through the cancellation routine all over again next year.

      To avoid hassle, do it by letter.
      See How to complain

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION