Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    freesat multiroom

    This is a discussion on freesat multiroom within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; We have sky digital in the lounge already and I would like to have another box upstairs but I only ...

    1. #1
      Pulsar's Avatar
      Pulsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      freesat multiroom

      We have sky digital in the lounge already and I would like to have another box upstairs but I only really want the free channels.
      So can I get multiroom upstairs with just the free channels so that I don't have to pay the 10 a month or whatever it is to have multiroom? and how much would it cost to have installed? same cost as a normal multiroom installation?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: freesat multiroom

      Sky wouldn't do it. They wouldn't recover the cost from you if you aren't paying the extra sub for 12 months
      If you bought your own box and multi output LNB then you could do it yourself.

    4. #3
      Pulsar's Avatar
      Pulsar is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: freesat multiroom

      Thanks for the reply.
      Would freesat (the bbc/itv one) install a new lnb on my sky dish?

    5. #4
      Proppinupthebar's Avatar
      Proppinupthebar is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Locks Heath
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: 2*Sky+, Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      962
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: freesat multiroom

      Quote Originally Posted by Pulsar View Post
      Thanks for the reply.
      Would freesat (the bbc/itv one) install a new lnb on my sky dish?
      I doubt they would go to the expense of supplying you a quad LNB. I fact I'll say no they won't.


      Freesat may install a second dish for use with Freesat, but I'd imagine they would like to use the one you already have.

    6. #5
      Sam Radford's Avatar
      Sam Radford is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01439
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sky
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      685
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: freesat multiroom

      Buy a used Sky Digibox and a quad-output LNB. Swap the LNBs and connect a new cable to the used Sky Digibox. Job done!

      (If you aren't capable of doing this, find a local installer.)

      If you also want the (few) extra programmes such as "five", buy a 20 "FreesatFromSky" card.

    7. #6
      nodrog's Avatar
      nodrog is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: wskiw
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: sky hub SR102
      Sky TV: SKY+ HD 1tb box
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Location
      ayrshire
      Posts
      461
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: freesat multiroom

      a second dish for free sat is not a good idea if its put on the wall of the house as most if not all local councils would require planning permission for 2 dishes and most will refuse it

      unless you can install on pole or some sort of solid wall or fence in say a rear garden where it would be obscured from general view

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION