Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    Freesat question

    This is a discussion on Freesat question within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Hey all! Question! We are getting sky+ installed next week due to a nice little offer and I was asking ...

    1. #1
      Jeffers's Avatar
      Jeffers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penrith/LCPEN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Cumbria
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Freesat question

      Hey all!

      Question!

      We are getting sky+ installed next week due to a nice little offer and I was asking the salesman about using the old box for freesat. Now he said the engineers are normally quite busy in our area so he may have time to fix it up for us, he may not, but he said if I was handy enough with cabling, just ask him to leave me a bit of cable and tell me what to do and I should be fine.

      Now I'm quite happy to do that, but would like to know roughly in advance, where I would be connecting cables up to/from and is it easy enough to do?

      Anyone have any advice?

      Cheers,

      Jeffers


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      sat.guy's Avatar
      sat.guy is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: sky hd, sky +
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      74
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat question

      Quote Originally Posted by Jeffers View Post
      Hey all!

      Question!

      We are getting sky+ installed next week due to a nice little offer and I was asking the salesman about using the old box for freesat. Now he said the engineers are normally quite busy in our area so he may have time to fix it up for us, he may not, but he said if I was handy enough with cabling, just ask him to leave me a bit of cable and tell me what to do and I should be fine.

      Now I'm quite happy to do that, but would like to know roughly in advance, where I would be connecting cables up to/from and is it easy enough to do?

      Anyone have any advice?

      Cheers,

      Jeffers
      best advice for you is on the day of the install look at the back of your sky box and rember where all the wires go
      before the sky guy gets there take off the sky feed (which is the screw on one) pull the wire out off the wall and route it to where you want it and re-connect the box take the card out and put it back where the box came from as the sky guy will need it for the sky+
      tell him you have moved the standard box and can he please connect the feed to the new lnb but please bear in mind that if you want free-sat you will need a card which i think you card get from sky for 20
      all infomation i give is advice only

      Regards
      Sat.guy


    4. #3
      Jeffers's Avatar
      Jeffers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penrith/LCPEN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Cumbria
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat question

      Cheers for the reply.

      I think we've decided to get it wired in in the same room, connected up to the cheapy Video senders and ask the guy to leave a few extra meters of cable so we can move it if we want.

      Thanks again!

    5. #4
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat question

      you only need an extra card to see channel 4 and 5.

      You don't need a video sender, connect the new cable to the RF2 output on the sky box, then you need a magic eye (about 5) and you can control the sky box from the other room.

    6. #5
      Jeffers's Avatar
      Jeffers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penrith/LCPEN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Cumbria
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat question

      Well we got the cable connected (slipped the guy an extra tenner ) and now deciding where to put the box.

      The trouble with using the second RF socket is that then we need to have a cable going everywhere. Using the Video Sender, it removes that little bit (and helps keeps Mam that little bit happier )

      Jeffers

    7. #6
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat question

      why do women panic when you want to run cable

    8. #7
      Jeffers's Avatar
      Jeffers is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Penrith/LCPEN
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Cumbria
      Posts
      33
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat question

      Heh, thats why I've put cupboards/boxes/anything else bulky along the walls of my room to make sure nothing get's unplugged.

      Jeffers

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION