Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 46

    Freesat & Sky+ box

    This is a discussion on Freesat & Sky+ box within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; BBC HD hardly ever shows current HD programes, not a full channel line up like C4HD I agree but,it is ...

    1. #21
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      BBC HD hardly ever shows current HD programes, not a full channel line up like C4HD
      I agree but,it is free without 10 a Month subsciption.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Hardly free, you pay a licence fee and the receiver is nearly 300. At the moment, only Sky have any real choice of HD and for now at least you have to pay 10 per month, is it worth it? probably not for many.

      If you already have Sky then the subsidised upgrade cost to HD and the monthly charge of 10 is not so bad compared to the cost of 300 to get 1.5 HD channels on freesatHD

      For the cost to get freesatHD and the channel line up I don't understand why anyone would even consider it.

    4. #23
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      The point i was trying to make is that a Sky + Box will not let you record without a continued Subsciption of some sort ,Therfore the box in effect becomes a standard box with no recording facilty.
      There are some people prefer the option of a one off payment and be able to record, then to be tied to a contract.

    5. #24
      redlion2009's Avatar
      redlion2009 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01273
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      For what it is worth Maplin are doing a Freesat PVR with HD upscaling (or so I was informed by one of their assistants). Dont know much about it but it may be worth consideration, its 110 without hard drive.

    6. #25
      User Name's Avatar
      User Name is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: don't know
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2009
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Interesting to read threads such a this, as with the credit crunch, I am looking at ways to save money and Sky+ could be one of the first things to have to go.

    7. #26
      Janfd's Avatar
      Janfd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 0121
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Can someone please explain WHY with a Sky+ box and no subscription you cannot record the freesat you pick up. a)the harddrive is in your box. So the recording is stored on site and not on 'the server'. b) therefore the recording program must also be on site in Sky+ box.
      So to me, all what it is to me is that Sky controls the Sky+ function of recording. Sky switches on and off the recording function in each Sky+ box depending whether you are subscribed or not.
      Is that not the truth?
      After paying for the Sky+ box we should be able to activate the recording function OR Sky should be obliged to switch on the recording function once the box comes out of contract.
      Please explain.

    8. #27
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      You cannot use it as it is a subscription service. Pay Sky 10 per month and they will turn it on.

      They have the technology

    9. #28
      mattylad's Avatar
      mattylad is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LCROSS
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Lancashire
      Posts
      320
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Surely as it is a digital TV recorder, hen for the recording features of something we have paid for to be turned off - hasn't anyone got the trading standards onto Sky about this?

      After all - we paid for it just like any other bits of equipment.
      A bit like buying a dishwasher, where they say you cannot wash plates in it because your no longer paying us?

    10. #29
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      It is in the T&C's.

      The PVR features are part of the subscription service, no subscription, no PVR.

    11. #30
      Wetwipes's Avatar
      Wetwipes is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Hi

      I've got Sky+ in my living room and am wanting Freesat upstairs in one of the bedrooms. I phoned Sky last night and they said it is best to pay for multi-room (10 a month for 12 months) then cancel the contract and turn the box into a freesat. This way you get the benefit of all the extra channels multi-room offers for about the same price as you would get Freesat for anyway. I will probably go for this option but before I do will I still be able to record the programmes via my external dvd recorder, and is there any drawbacks to this? Sorry for sounding a bit thick!

     

     
    Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION