Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 46

    Freesat & Sky+ box

    This is a discussion on Freesat & Sky+ box within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; Originally Posted by greyrider Sky+ is free to use provided you are paying/subscribing to at least the minimum channel package. ...

    1. #11
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by greyrider View Post
      Sky+ is free to use provided you are paying/subscribing to at least the minimum channel package. You can have, for example, a HD box in one room with the subscription card and a Sky+ in another with a Freesat card (20, call 0870 240 5651 to order), no problem. If, IF, you're a subscriber then the Sky+ functions will work.
      if thats true i didn't know that!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      DangerMouse's Avatar
      DangerMouse is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Daventry
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2007
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Oh thats cool then.

      Can I use the card thats coming with the box (second hand) or would it be wise to order sky's own freesat card?

      Sorry for all the questions, but at least this looks like it will be a goer now.

      Cheers

      Tony

    4. #13
      greyrider's Avatar
      greyrider is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: O2
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Somewhere
      Posts
      295
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      As it's already been paired to the box, why not just connect things up and see what happens, worst case you'll have to buy one of your own, but it ought to work fine.

    5. #14
      Fez's Avatar
      Fez
      Fez is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: somewhere
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Does it seem like madness and more importantly greed on sky's part that you have to pay for a service thats totally free if you go for the none sky variant of free sat?

      Humax have released their HD PVR to the masses this week. No cards, no ten pounds a month for anything, just a one off payment for the box which looks like 299. Does this not seem like a bargain to anyone else?

      Why should we pay to be able to record? they've had our money for the boxes! Would you have paid to record on tape in the VHS/Beta days?

      Madness!

    6. #15
      Nigelh's Avatar
      Nigelh is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: Hitchin
      Broadband ISP: Mid
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: and Multiroom
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Hitchin
      Posts
      232
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      You're not actually paying to record, you are paying for the additional channels, and functionality that you get EPG, Series Link etc. Whilst I know little about the Humax Freesat boxes, if they are similar to the Freeview PVR's, the EPG isn't a patch on Sky's, it takes agers to load and you can't series link (you can set a daily/weekly recording, but only at the same time) I would agree that a 10 HD sub and a 10 multiroom sub is a bit steep, and certainly puts me off the HD option for now. It might be that Sky should look at reducing this if both are taken, and even if you have more than 2 boxes.

    7. #16
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      O.K. I admit to being confused by this thread.

      According to Sky, if you have Freesat from Sky
      to use Sky+ you need to buy the Sky+ box for 299
      and then pay 10 a month to use the recording facilities.

      Instead, they suggest you buy the minimum package (17)
      per month plus 99 for the box.
      This is financially better, you get more channels, but
      you will no longer be Freesat but a Sky subscriber.

      Therefore, from a practical point of view you can use Sky+ and Freesat.
      It just doesn't make financial sense, compared to being a subscriber
      especially as you should be able to get a new customer deal.
      Right?
      Last edited by murdock; 30-12-08 at 01:49 PM. Reason: typo / revised

    8. #17
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Another option is:

      Humax Foxsat High Definition freesat box with integrated recorder and 320GB hard drive allowing you to watch and record up to 80 hours of high definition TV or 200 hours of standard definition TV from over 130 digital channels. Also features twin tuner, pause live TV function and 8 day electronic programme guide.
      292.00

    9. #18
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      That's one hell of a lot of money for one HD channel

      I'd rather get Sky+ with the minimum viewing package for a year.

    10. #19
      psu300's Avatar
      psu300 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealow
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Suffolk
      Posts
      749
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      BBC Hd and Channel 4 Hd are free.

    11. #20
      Smithy99's Avatar
      Smithy99 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Irby
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Wirral
      Posts
      6,739
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 57 Times in 57 Posts

      Re: Freesat & Sky+ box

      Quote Originally Posted by psu300 View Post
      BBC Hd and Channel 4 Hd are free.
      BBC HD hardly ever shows current HD programes, not a full channel line up like C4HD

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION