Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 8 of 8

    Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

    This is a discussion on Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation? within the Freesat forums, part of the Sky & Sky+ TV category; I'm planning to install sky on a holiday home just to get good reception.. But should I get freesat or ...

    1. #1
      benaline's Avatar
      benaline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      I'm planning to install sky on a holiday home just to get good reception..

      But should I get freesat or plain Sky,

      It looks like I can maybe get a better deal getting a sky package and seeing out the minimum period and then switching to a freesat card for 20, rather than paying 150 for freesat straight away. Has anyone any advice?

      Also, I have full sky package at home, will I be able to use my home card to have full sky when I go away? and will the choice of freesat affect this if I can?

      I feel like I should know the answers to these questions, but don't! Any help appreciated..


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      murdock's Avatar
      murdock is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,029
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      Quote Originally Posted by benaline View Post
      I'm planning to install sky on a holiday home just to get good reception..But should I get freesat or plain Sky,
      At Christmas I bought my sister the Sky gift pack.
      (Freeview is not available in her area.)
      Six months of 2 non premium mixes and standard box
      and installation cost 75. Reception is fantastic.
      There must be a fixed phone line in the house.
      In June I pay 20 for a Freesat card. So she will have no subscription.
      You lose the 2 channel mixes but get all the Freesat channels.
      It's frustratingly difficult to find out if a similar offer is
      available now on the Sky site. I am unable to track it down.
      An expensive phone call may be the only way to find out.
      If the offer is available 95 is better than paying 150 up front.

      My Max. Faster, Cheaper, Better.
      Last edited by murdock; 25-04-07 at 12:36 PM. Reason: highlighting bold type

    4. #3
      GaryM's Avatar
      GaryM is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Didcot
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear DGN1000
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      South Oxfordshire
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      Quote Originally Posted by benaline View Post
      I'm planning to install sky on a holiday home just to Also, I have full sky package at home, will I be able to use my home card to have full sky when I go away? and will the choice of freesat affect this if I can?
      Each viewing card is "married" to a box so a card will only work in the box that has been configured to work with it. This unfortunately means that you cannot just use your card in someone elses box and if you get a new box then you have to ring up Sky and get your new box configured to work with your existing card. I believe this is for security reasons so that cards cannot simply just be copied and then sold on the black market.

      However, what would work is if you took your whole (full subscription) box and card with you to your holiday home and then just connect it to your holiday home satellite dish. You would then get all your full subscription channels while on holiday

    5. #4
      benaline's Avatar
      benaline is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      119
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      Thanks both of you, I understand now, shame about the box/card marriage affair, but taking the whole box is a good idea ....phone line might be a problem for standard installation I'll give em a ring about that, see if they can be made flexible....

      Thanks again.

    6. #5
      RickyC's Avatar
      RickyC is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Salford
      Broadband ISP: Mid/JNET
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Salford
      Posts
      705
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      Quote Originally Posted by benaline View Post
      Thanks both of you, I understand now, shame about the box/card marriage affair, but taking the whole box is a good idea ....phone line might be a problem for standard installation I'll give em a ring about that, see if they can be made flexible....

      Thanks again.
      Think sky have a strict policy about the phone line

    7. #6
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Exclamation Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      HOLD ON.

      I have 2 sky boxes and 1 card. I move the card between boxes sometimes and have never had a problem

      1 is a pace from about 2001, the other is a Thomson from about 2004.

      I do some times get a message on the Thomson saying wrong card but I just change the channel and all is fine.

    8. #7
      rbentley's Avatar
      rbentley is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      120
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      Quote Originally Posted by madrat View Post
      HOLD ON.

      I have 2 sky boxes and 1 card. I move the card between boxes sometimes and have never had a problem

      1 is a pace from about 2001, the other is a Thomson from about 2004.

      I do some times get a message on the Thomson saying wrong card but I just change the channel and all is fine.
      Even with the premium channels?

    9. #8
      madrat's Avatar
      madrat is offline Banned
      Exchange: Hinckley
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Leicestershire
      Posts
      231
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Should I get Freesat or plain sky installation?

      No I don't have any premium channels, I think you can still do it but you cant see the premium channels on the second box, not 100% on that mind.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION