Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11

    Not sure what to do...

    This is a discussion on Not sure what to do... within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I have the sky mid package but I have only been getting downspeeds of about 1.8mb at max. This problem ...

    1. #1
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Not sure what to do...

      I have the sky mid package but I have only been getting downspeeds of about 1.8mb at max. This problem was not resolved by plugging into my master socket, however, when removing the front of my master socket and plugging into the test socket, I received a speed of just over 6mb.

      What should I do next?

      Will a new faceplate help sort this out?

      Ideally I do not want the router plugged directly into the master socket as it is quite out of reach of the computer.

      Any suggestions?

      Chris.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      Hi mate, i managed to get identical stats in an extension socket. I used cat 5e data cable to wire from the master to the ext ( about 10m ). Just connected 2 &5 and did not connect the ring wire.
      hope this helps
      dave

    4. #3
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      The master socket produced the same 1.8mb downspeed though, The only improvements were from using the test socket. Are you saying to wire directly from the test socket?

      Sorry about my lack of technical knowledge, my internet knowledge doesn't really stretch past the router =)

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      Sorry wasnt really clear there was I ? If you have any other extensions wired to the master then remove them and see if you then get the same stats at master as test. If you do then the extensions are the problem. i get same stats in test/master and extension. You cant ( legally )wire direct to the test socket you will have to wire from the master that plugs into it. Check out the cabling / faceplate section or get back to me if thats not clear ( had a couple !!)
      dave

    6. #5
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      That seemed slightly clearer. Nothing is plugged into the front of the master socket but there are wires connected behind the front cover. So I should disconnect these wires and then try the master again?

    7. #6
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      Yeah, when you remove the front part ( master ) if there are any other cables connected to the back of it then they will be for other phone extensions around your house. Note what connections they are to ( should be 2 & 5 ) remove them, put the master back then check your stats again. If you have orange wires connected to 3 then these could be the problem.
      cheers
      dave

    8. #7
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      Have just tried what you suggested. the only wires connected were in 2 and 5. I disconnected and tried the master which immediately connected at just over a 6mb speed.

      I take it that this means the fault is somewhere else in the main ring?

      Any suggestions on what I should try next?

    9. #8
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      How many extensions were connected ? What type of cable is it ? If it was normal phone ext cable then u need to bin it. The less extensions u have the better. I just have one from front room to back wired in cat 5e. If you want some pm me and i'll send you some.

    10. #9
      chrisypea's Avatar
      chrisypea is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Waltham Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Location
      Essex
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      Once again my lack of knowledge restricts me. All i can tell you is that there were wires in 2 and 5. Thin wires if that helps.

      I lack the technical lingo in this field as you can see

      From the master, the wires travel to about 5 other phone connections around the house if that is what you mean. Rewiring the whole house is not a viable option really though.

      Could i pinpoint where most of the signal is lost and replace just some of the cabling?

      If i have misunderstood you I do apologise

      Thanks for the help so far, Chris.

    11. #10
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: Not sure what to do...

      Chris
      Sounds like youve got a big house lol !!
      The "thin wires" are probably just standard phone extension cable - ok for phones - not good for adsl.
      If I was u i'd wire an ext direct to where your router is in cat 5e. u can also have a phone at that location.
      Then reconnect ur extensions 1 at a time and check stats after each connection.
      If uv got all ur exts loopin out on one wire ie it goes to 1st ext then second then third with same wire etc i would seriously review how many u actually need. maybe think about some wireless phones from one point ?
      cheers
      dave
      no probs with the help thats what this forum is all about
      Last edited by dholdi; 03-03-07 at 06:32 PM.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION