Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 6 of 6

    Slow Speeds Using Extension

    This is a discussion on Slow Speeds Using Extension within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi guys, I'm on Sky Max but have been getting router connection speeds of only 1200kbps using a wired connection ...

    1. #1
      GeeWhiz's Avatar
      GeeWhiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Slow Speeds Using Extension

      Hi guys, I'm on Sky Max but have been getting router connection speeds of only 1200kbps using a wired connection on my upstairs phone socket.

      I found this site and tried out my test socket and immediately got connected at 12000kbps.

      I've now left my router connected to the main socket but am having to use wireless so am only achieving 6700kbps now and it disconnects quite a bit.

      My question is will one of these new Faceplates I have read about help me or do you think there's a problem with my extension that runs from the main phone socket ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds Using Extension

      A new faceplate will more than likely improve things. First what you need to do is remove the faceplate from the master socket and if there is an orange wire connected to terminal 3, disconnect it. Then try your speeds on the extension socket.

    4. #3
      GeeWhiz's Avatar
      GeeWhiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds Using Extension

      Thanks, removing the orange wire moved me up to 8800kbps on wireless.

      I may try the new faceplate too but would I need to rewire the extension too as I fitted it with normal BT wire

    5. #4
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds Using Extension

      You wont need to rewire the extension if you get a new faceplate. If by BT wire you mean it just plugs in the front of the socket and is not hard-wired you can just cut the connector off and hard-wire it in. Also if you mean it is poor quality cable it does not matter either as just adding a new faceplate may help.

      It is likely that now you may be at the limit of the wireless capability.

    6. #5
      GeeWhiz's Avatar
      GeeWhiz is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds Using Extension

      No it's hardwired, I meant the cable I got to do the extension was BT cable from a friend who works there.

      Thanks for your help, may stick with what I have for now as I'm happy with the speed now.

    7. #6
      Draig's Avatar
      Draig is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Not on Sly anymore
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      109
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Slow Speeds Using Extension

      I would change the socket to an ADSLNation one, I gained 1mb d/l speed just by doing that, and it looks better anyway, and you can ditch the wirelss option then.

      If your still after more speed after that, then you can look at rewiring using better quality wire.
      Last edited by Draig; 08-03-07 at 12:18 PM.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION