Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 7 of 7

    BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

    This is a discussion on BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz within the Cabling and faceplate help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; HI i have moved to a new house when BT installed the phone line there was a noise like power ...

    1. #1
      vass0131's Avatar
      vass0131 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dean edinburgh
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      HI i have moved to a new house when BT installed the phone line there was a noise like power on the line i advised of this but nothing was done.

      1 week later sky broadband max with 56k speeds

      sky advised that my attenuation is too high maybe caused by a fault in the line they have capped my line now because my line cannot handle the speeds.

      contacted bt line test and engineer sent .... NO line fault 80 charge and still no bband

      im now connected in the test socket

      here's my stats could someone please help
      Port Status TxPkts RxPkts Collisions Tx B/s Rx B/s Up Time
      WAN PPPoA 1942439 1802774 0 11613 9029 31:10:55
      LAN 10M/100M 1823 0 0 5 0 31:13:00
      WLAN 11M/54M 1799915 1974630 0 9181 11852 31:12:50


      ADSL Link Downstream Upstream
      Connection Speed 480 kbps 224 kbps
      Line Attenuation 57.0 db 31.5 db

      i live 3km from my local exchange the dean in edinburgh


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      hi m8 - i ahd a similar prob when i moved house about 3 years ago and was still with bt for bb then. they put a new line in for me after them saying there was no probs with it initially. the fault was intermittent and it was me who spotted the cable arcing outsde where it was clipped to wall. keep at them but tell them the problem is with your phone - dont mention bb ( i think they r a bit peeved with sky - cant think why !!! ) if they do identify a fault make sure u get onto them for your money back
      cheers
      dave

    4. #3
      vass0131's Avatar
      vass0131 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dean edinburgh
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      thanks for the fast reply

      the problem is all the time line noise i have tried all the micro filters and wires with no extensions test sockets,

    5. #4
      dholdi's Avatar
      dholdi is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange: LCRIB
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Location
      Preston
      Posts
      5,295
      Thanks
      34
      Thanked 47 Times in 45 Posts

      Re: BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      np m8 - i'm on connect so not an expert on max - i know its frustrating but bear with us and i'm sure someone on hear with more knowledge than me will help - it does sound tho that noise s the prob - check out this
      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...ky-router.html
      then post the results
      cheers
      dave

    6. #5
      vass0131's Avatar
      vass0131 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: dean edinburgh
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Feb 2007
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      after a few calls and emails bt still say no problem and sky say they are looking into it......... strange as after a few emails to bt today my line attenuation has dropped from 57.0 to 15.5 wow now to get intouch with t3 to get my connection uncapped

    7. #6
      stephens's Avatar
      stephens is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      206
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      the router reporting an attenuation of 15.5 is just a router fault, reboot it and it should return to normal

    8. #7
      The Doctor's Avatar
      The Doctor is offline Skyuser Member
      Exchange: SSNOR
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      England
      Posts
      603
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BT say its not them and SKY say that too HELP plz

      call bt and tell them your phone line has noise on it, like a fuzzing. and tell them you think it may be your master socket.
      they will then check the line and come and check the master socket.

      Do not mention anything about bband

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION